Frequency Drift

Through detailed compositions, enthusiastic melodies and, last but not least, dimensions of sound that are as complex as they are experimental Frequency Drift create enthralling cinematic music on their seventh album to date, Letters to Maro. In the minds of listeners the music creates fascinating sequences of images all by means of the mere energy of the sounds. For their musical style the band created the label “Progressive Cinematic Music“ and has excited fans and critics of various genres for more than ten years now. Epic, spacious soundscapes alternate with striking riffs, delicate instrumental parts and expressive female vocals.

Just as with all other releases, once again the proven songwriting and production team consisting of Nerissa Schwarz and Andreas Hack helmed the genesis of Letters to Maro and served as both author and director of the cinematically musical experience that Letters to Maro offers for its listeners: the music, the lyrics, the artwork and the video material, all those factors contribute to what ultimately becomes an experience of extensive spaces and images.

Artist-Website: www.frequencydrift.com

SmartURL: www.smarturl.it/FD_LettersToMaro

Irini Alexia (vocals)
Andreas Hack (keys, synthesizers, guitar, bass, mandolin)
Nerissa Schwarz (electric harp, mellotron, synthesizers)
Wolfgang Ostermann (drums, wavedrum)

Additional musicians:
Michael Bauer (guitar (1&10))
Marco Geipel (live bass)

16Mar 2015

06 Oct 2018 | UK-Chepstow, Summer’s End-Festival
19 Oct 2018 | D-Schwäbisch Gmünd, a.l.s.o. – Kulturcafé
08 Nov 2018 | D-Kulmbach, Dynamic Commerce GmbH
15 Dec 2018 | D-Königshofen, Kulturschock
29 Dec 2018 | NL-Ulft, Crosslands Festival
19 Jan 2019 | D-Erkrath, Stellarium

Frequency Drift | Last | CD

14,90 

Includes 19% Mehrwertsteuer

Frequency Drift | Over | CD

14,90 

Includes 19% Mehrwertsteuer

Frequency Drift | Laid To Rest | CD

12,90 

Includes 19% Mehrwertsteuer

Diskography

     

  1. Letters to Maro

    Frequency Drift | Letters to Maro

    Frequency Drift | Letters to Maro The ghosts, the ghosts
    The things you cannot leave behind, the things that remain. Oftentimes it is only thoughts – indeed ghosts – that remind you of what once was. Through detailed compositions, enthusiastic melodies and, last but not least, dimensions of sound that are as complex as they are experimental Frequency Drift create enthralling Cinematic Music on their new album Letters to Maro. In the minds of listeners the music creates fascinating sequences of images about loss, forgetting and healing all by means of the mere energy of the sounds.

    Letters to Maro’s predecessor Last was still strongly imprinted by heavy guitars. On the new record, though, the Bayreuth-based band put the focus on rhythmic sophistication innovation in the field of sound design to deliver even more vital imagery for the imagination of people. In this context, however, the typically catchy vocal arrangements create a remarkable degree of accessibility, which is impressive, particularly when considering that complexity accounts for a considerable degree of Frequency Drift’s artistic output – now even more than in the past.

    In order to continue the practice of creating a very unique sound for every album the band has deepened its intense use of tight arrangements and unconventional instruments: once again the electronic harp is at the center of the compositions, in particular. That way the group leaves the heavy guitar sound of Last behind and displays a much more transparent and electronic approach on Letters to Maro. That is how the songs receive the room to breathe they need, so they can unfold their inherent melancholy and lightness with highly-precise clarity. Frequency Drift has never been rhythmically more versatile, never have the songs contained more energy or heart.

    The implementation of the lyrical aspect of the concept was conducted by new addition and singer Irini Alexia. She not only uses her emotional eloquence in her voice but also in her writing style. The songs were conceived as loosely connected stand-alone letters in which Irini tells the story of a person that has to come to the realization that even returning to the metropolis of his youth, hedonism and the pursuit of normality cannot obliterate all the ghosts of loss. It would have been easy to get fully immersed in melancholia, but despite the enormous emotionality of the songs: in many places subtle winks provide them with moments of lightness and comfort.

    Just as with all other releases, once again the proven songwriting and production team consisting of Nerissa Schwarz and Andreas Hack helmed the genesis of Letters to Maro. Influenced by the works of authors like Haruki Murakami as well as Japan’s arthouse cinema, Frequency Drift’s mastermind pair also created the album’s overall artistic conception. Once again Schwarz and Hack serve as both author and director of the cinematically musical experience that Letters to Maro offers for its listeners: the music, the lyrics, the artwork and the video material, all those factors contribute to what ultimately becomes an experience of extensive spaces and images.

    The ghosts, you just cannot shake them off. Isn’t that glorious!

    Release EU 13.04.2018
    Media CD (Digipak) GAOM056
      LP (2Vinyl) GAOM056LP
    Label Gentle Art Of Music
    Distribution Soulfood Music
    Irini Alexia (vocals)
    Andreas Hack (keys, synthesizers, guitar, bass, mandolin)
    Nerissa Schwarz (electric harp, mellotron, synthesizers)
    Wolfgang Ostermann (drums, wavedrum)

    Additional musicians:
    Michael Bauer (guitar (1&10))
    Marco Geipel (live bass)

    01.) Dear Maro
    02.) Underground
    03.) Electricity
    04.) Neon
    05.) Deprivation
    06.) Izanami
    07.) Nine
    08.) Escalator
    09.) Sleep Paralysis
    10.) Who’s Master
    11.) Ghosts When It Rains

  2. Last

    Frequency Drift | Over

    Going to the movies – in your head
    Frequency Drift are the movie buffs of the music scene. With its latest album Last the six-piece collective from Bavaria’s Bayreuth once again stepped up to create a visually as well as acoustically stunning story composed of sounds, pictures, words and emotions. And through it all, the band relish defying all the rules. The desperation is tangible, the pain is palpable and yet there is a chance for a happy ending. Here goes the curtain!
    On their meanwhile sixth record Frequency Drift achieve a true quantum leap. For instance, one can of course once again hear the complex soundscapes that have been a band trademark since the beginning and that provide the backdrop for the stories of the six Bavarians. This time, though, songwriters and producers Andreas Hack and Nerissa Schwarz have decided to create a livelier, warmer and all in all more challenging big picture. Never have Frequency Drift sounded more graphic, never was the listener able to sense, grasp, see and, indeed, experience the cinematic aspect of the band’s music. As soon as the lights in the auditorium have faded out, the story begins to take the listener.
    On their new album Frequency Drift once more refuse to accept the commonly applied parameters of the genre as a binding requisite. This time around, again there is tremendous experimenting with the alienation of sounds in order to be able to portrait the ragged emotional landscapes of Last even more hauntingly. That is why not only the electric harp plays a leading role more than ever, but one can also hear the sounds of rather exotic instruments as the mellotron as well as the theremin. Also there are breathtakingly extraordinary adapted arrangements that make the emotional force of the music even more intense.
    There is no denying: this new piece is the most coherent and courageous album in the history of this band. The music, the lyrics and the artwork of the booklet are equally important pillars that carry the synthesis of the arts that is Last. Only when these three elements interact with each other, one can really grasp and experience the enormous and vast scope of this project. Frequency Drift do not only provide the music, they also bring along the whole film.
    On Last the creative minds from Bayreuth have established a scene in which the protagonist collects old photographs, absorbs the sentiments and emotions they contain and, whilst doing so, increasingly drifts into a state of obsession. Every song tells the story of one of the photographs that have just as profound an impact on the storyline’s characters as they do on the listener.
    In the perception of the material Frequency Drift challenge the audience emotionally as well as artistically, and yet there is always enough room left for personal associations, a fact that at all times also makes Last an entertaining journey into one’s own personality. That is how the cinemas in the listeners’ heads show a film, the originality, dynamics, emotionality and wildness of which guarantees for a both fascinating as well as enjoyable experience that appeals to all the senses. When it comes to Last entertainment and intellectual aspiration have their hands in the same bag of popcorn.
    In Last Andreas Hack, Nerissa Schwarz and the four other musicians have created a piece of art that more than ever fuses the diverse influences into an intensive whole that does not only avoid clichés and transcend genre borders through its sheer versatility and the pleasure in the unusual but also lifts Frequency Drift into another artistic dimension. Hardly ever has one been able to hear spherical worlds of sound and catchy melodies coexist that beautifully with the complexity of an enormously ambitious approach.
    Ladies and Gentlemen, lean back comfortably, close your eyes and just enjoy the movie!

    Release EU 19.02.2016
    Media CD GAOM043
    Label Gentle Art Of Music
    Distribution Soulfood Music
    Andreas Hack (keyboards, guitars)
    Nerissa Schwarz (harp, mellotron)
    Melli Mau (vocals)
    Martin Schnella (guitar)
    Rainer Wolf (bass)
    Wolfgang Ostermann (drums, percussion and strange sounds)
    01. Traces 7:08
    02. Diary 5:31
    03. Merry 5:08
    04. Shade 5:52
    05. Treasured 08:25
    06. Last Photo 07:59
    07. Hidden 5:34
    08. Asleep 8:31
  3. Over

    Frequency Drift | Over

    Frequency Drift Over The harp, the cello, the violin, the flute, the gemshorn – and all that in a rock band? Really? Yes! On their new album Frequency Drift merge influences as diverse as Pink Floyd, Renaissance and film music in fascinating fashion: cinematic progressive rock. Sounds interesting? That’s because it is!

    Founded in 2007 by keyboarder and mastermind Andreas Hack, Bayreuth-based Frequency Drift now present their fifth studio album Over. When compared to its critically acclaimed predecessors the record shows tremendous progress – yet again. More than ever the instruments are in the center of attention and, in addition to the abovementioned variety, this time there are instrumental exotics such as the duclar, a tin whistle, different harps, a marimba and a wavedrum. Thus Frequency Drift enter an entirely new dimension within the rock-context, elegantly avoid the pitfalls of cliché of the genre and finally create a musical mixture that holds something for everybody, ranging from prog-fans via lovers of world music all the way to listeners of classical works.

    This love of experimenting also becomes evident in the fact that, opposed to general customs, the band decided to not have only one single voice on the record. Frequency Drift rather went with a different plan. With the spectacular shooting star Isa Fallenbacher, who appears on the majority of the songs, as well as the jazz-trained Agathe Labus there are no less than two singers that perform the lyrics that function as the listeners’ keywords – while still leaving space for interpretation.

    As regards content, especially, the fifth album of the southern Germans has an almost unprecedented depth to offer. The band deals with the area of tension between idyll and decay and in that fuses the urban and cold sounds of the Personal Effects Pt. 1 & Pt. 2 records from the early days of Frequency Drift with the warm and more organic sounds of the recent records Ghosts and Laid to Rest. Held together by an ever larger harmonic and rhythmic variety, a fascinating masterpiece comes together that is perfected by the cover pictures of Alina Rudya. The work of the Ukrainian shows the photographer’s hometown of Pripyat that has been abandoned since the Chernobyl disaster and where nature continues to make its way – despite all existence-threatening conditions. Corresponding to those aesthetics Frequency Drift, through their soundscapes, create a surreal atmosphere of loss, decay, abandonment but also liberation. The fact that the generous use of effects often leads to space-ish sounds only adds further to that impression.

    By always pursuing the extraordinary in terms of both the arrangements as well as the selection of instruments, Frequency Drift establish their very own style to which they furthermore add numerous innovations and that they continue to follow consequently on Over. Here the love of experimenting becomes the concept. Sibylle Friz (cello), Andreas Hack (keyboards), Christian Hack (guitar, flute, duclar, wavedrum), Jasper Jöris (gemshorn, marimba), Ulrike Reichel (violin, viola), Tino Schmidt (bass) and Nerissa Schwarz (co-songwriter, acoustic and electric harp) have established a wonderfully fruitful collaboration with RPWL’s Yogi Lang (sound mixing) for this impressive piece of music. With guitar virtuoso Martin Schnella (Flaming Row), Kalle Wallner (RPWL, bass) and drummer Phil Paul Rissettio (Ex-RPWL) three guest musicians have followed Frequency Drift’s call and contributed to what amounts to a truly exceptional artistic experience.

    Release EU 14.02.2014
    USA 18.02.2014
    Media CD GAOM021
    Label Gentle Art Of Music
    Distribution Soulfood Music
    Andreas Hack (keyboards, guitars, bass)
    Isa Fallenbacher (vocals)
    Agathe Labus (vocals)
    Nerissa Schwarz (electric harp)
    Christian Hack (guitar, bass)
    Steve Hohenberger (guitar)
    Martin Schnella (acoustic & electric guitars)
    Tino Schmidt (bass)
    Sibylle Friz (cello)
    Ulrike Reichel (violin, viola)
    Jasper Jöris (gemshorn)
    Phil Paul Rissettio (drums)
    Kalle Wallner (bass, guitars)
    01. Run
    02. Once
    03. Adrift
    04. Them
    05. Sagittarius A*
    06. Suspended
    07. Wave
    08. Wander
    09. Driven
    10. Release
    11. Memory
    12. Disappeared
  4. Laid To Rest

    Frequency Drift | Laid To Rest

    Frequency Drift Laid To Rest Having started with a single concert in the course of a band contest, Frequency Drift advanced to one of the insiders’ tips of Germany’s Prog Scene: Frequency drift are going to release their fourth album „Laid To Rest“ on the RPWL-Label Gentle Art Of Music. With this record however they won’t lay theirselves to rest at all: Just in time for their Show at the legendary „Night Of The Prog“-Festival at Loreley on 6th of July the new Cinematic Prog Album of Frequency Drift will show up in stores.
    Since 5years the 7 musicians around initiator and keyboarder Andreas Hack are dealing with extraordinary Prog-Music. Their thematically linked debut albums „Personal Effects 1“ and „Personal Effects 2“, as well as their follower „Ghosts“ have been thrilling the fans of atmospheric Prog-Music, and coined the term of „Cinematic Prog“ as the band’s style. Thereby, the extraordinary instruments are a real eye-, or ear-catcher: Clarinette, E-harp, and several mideval instruments like Gemshorn find a place next to singer Antje Auer on the overlong tracks. The lyrics – partly inspired by Romanic or Victorian poems – are perceiveing theirselves just as accessory parts to a unique sound construction. At the same time, the band doesn’t have any appeal to be exceptional by all means: „We want to call up the listeners associations, and don’t make up selected pictures. Our music wants to be discovered, and should awake and challenge our listeners with special instruments.“ , Mastermind Andreas Hack points out: „I’m glad to have found a more than dignified Lead Singer with Antje.“
    Frequency Drift are now taking advantage of their Show at the famous „Night Of The Prog“ Festival 2012 to release their latest opus „Laid To Rest“ together with the RPWL-lablel Gentle Art Of Music. The Album will be available everywhere at 6th of July.

    „Still I gazed, and still the form
    Pressed upon my aching sight
    Still I braved the howling storm
    When the ghost dissolved in night.“

    (Frequency Drift – „Cold“, inspired by Percy Bysshe Shelley)

    Release 06.07.2012
    Media CD GAOM010
    Label Gentle Art Of Music
    Distribution Soulfood Music
    Antje Auer (vox)
    Christian Hack (guitar, flutes, clarinette)
    Jürgen Rennecke (bass, stick)
    Nerissa Schwarz (harp)
    Andreas Hack (keys)
    Frank Schmitz (violin)
    Jasper Jöris (drums, percussion, gemshorn)

    Guest Appearances:
    Barbara Jöris (gemshorn & sev. mideval instruments)
    Thomas Epp: (clarinette)
    Alexander Galimbis (guitar)
    Martin Schnella (guitar)

    1. Dead
    2. Parted
    3. Cold
    4. Wish
    5. Ice
    6. Copper

Frequency Drift

Frequency Drift 2018Mit detailliert ausgearbeiteten Kompositionen, mitreißenden Melodien und, nicht zuletzt, ebenso komplexen wie experimentellen Klangdimensionen erschaffen Frequency Drift auf ihrem mittlerweile bereits siebten Album Letters to Maro fesselnden, cineastisch anmutenden Sound, der beim Hörer alleine durch die Macht seiner Klänge eine faszinierende Bildabfolge entstehen lässt. Die Band prägte für ihren Stil den Begriff „Progressive Cinematic Music“ und begeistert seit mittlerweile mehr als zehn Jahren Kritiker und Fans gleichermaßen mit großflächig angelegten Soundbildern, markanten Riffs, filigranen Instrumentalpassagen und ausdrucksstarkem, weiblichem Gesang.

Auch bei Letters to Maro war wieder das bewährte Songwriting- und Produktionsteam Nerissa Schwarz/Andreas Hack an vorderster Front verantwortlich, die gleichzeitig Autoren und Regisseure des cineastisch-musikalischen Ereignisses sind, das Letters to Maro dem Zuhörer bietet: Musik, Lyrik, Artwork und Videos fließen mit ein und schaffen ausufernde Welten und Bilder.

Künstler-Website: www.frequencydrift.com

Irini Alexia (Gesang)
Andreas Hack (Keyboards, Synthesizer, Gitarre, Bass, Mandoline)
Nerissa Schwarz (Electroharfe, Mellotron, Synthesizer)
Wolfgang Ostermann (Schlagzeug, Wavedrum)

Gastmusiker:
Michael Bauer (Gitarre (1&10))
Marco Geipel (Live-Bass)

16Mrz 2015

14 Apr 2018 | D-Bayreuth, Glashaus
03 Jun 2018 | D-Herzogenaurach, Schlossplatzbühne
04 – 07 Oct 2018 | UK-Chepstow, Summer’s End-Festival
19 Oct 2018 | D-Schwäbisch Gmünd, a.l.s.o. – Kulturcafé
08 Nov 2018 | D-Kulmbach, Dynamic Commerce GmbH
15 Dec 2018 | D-Königshofen, Kulturschock
19 Jan 2019 | D-Erkrath, Stellarium

Frequency Drift | Last | CD

14,90 

Enthält 19% Mehrwertsteuer
zzgl. Versand

Frequency Drift | Over | CD

14,90 

Enthält 19% Mehrwertsteuer
zzgl. Versand

Frequency Drift | Laid To Rest | CD

12,90 

Enthält 19% Mehrwertsteuer
zzgl. Versand

Diskographie

  1. Letters to Maro

    Frequency Drift | Letters to Maro

    Frequency Drift | Letters to Maro Die Gespenster, die Gespenster
    Was sich nicht abschütteln lässt; was übrigbleibt. Oft sind es nur noch Gedanken – ja, Gespenster –, die an das erinnern, was einmal war. Mit detailliert ausgearbeiteten Kompositionen, mitreißenden Melodien und, nicht zuletzt, ebenso komplexen wie experimentellen Klangdimensionen erschaffen Frequency Drift auf ihrem neuen Album Letters to Maro fesselnden, cineastisch anmutenden Sound, der beim Hörer alleine durch die Macht seiner Klänge eine faszinierende Bildabfolge von Verlust, Vergessen und Bewältigung entstehen lässt.

    War der Vorgänger Last noch von harten Gitarren geprägt, setzen die Bayreuther auf Letters to Maro diesmal deutlich mehr auf rhythmische Finessen und Innovation im Sound Design-Bereich, um die Kopfkinos der Zuhörer mit Bildern zu versorgen. Die typisch starken und griffigen Gesangslinien sorgen dabei jedoch gleichzeitig für ein beeindruckendes Maß an Zugänglichkeit, zumal wenn man bedenkt, dass gerade die Komplexität, noch mehr als schon in der Vergangenheit, ein maßgebliches Element des künstlerischen Schaffens von Frequency Drift darstellt.

    Um dem langjährigen Konzept treu zu bleiben und jedem Album seinen ganz eigenen Sound zu geben, hat die Band diesmal noch intensiver auf dichte Arrangements und die unkonventionelle Instrumentierung gesetzt: gerade die E-Harfe steht einmal mehr im Zentrum der Kompositionen. So lässt man den schweren Gitarrensound von Last hinter sich und geht auf Letters to Maro deutlich transparenter und elektronischer vor. So bekommen die Songs den Raum zum Atmen, was sie ihre jeweilige Melancholie oder Leichtfüßigkeit mit höchstpräziser Klarheit entfalten lässt. Nie war Frequency Drift rhythmisch vielseitiger, nie hatten die Songs mehr Energie oder Herz.

    Für die lyrische Umsetzung des Konzeptes ist Neuzugang und Sängerin Irini Alexia verantwortlich. Sie nutzt ihre emotionale Eloquenz nicht nur in ihrer Stimme, sondern schon auf dem Papier und erzählt in den als einzelne Briefe konzipierten Stücken ebenso lebendig wie farbig die Geschichte einer Person, die feststellen muss, dass auch eine Rückkehr in die Metropole ihrer Jugend, Hedonismus und das Streben nach Normalität nicht alle Gespenster des Verlusts vertreiben können. Es wäre ein leichtes, hier vollends in Melancholie zu versinken, doch so emotional geladen die Songs oft auch sind, das ein oder andere Augenzwinkern verleiht ihnen Momente der Leichtigkeit.

    Auch bei Letters to Maro war wieder das bewährte Songwriting- und Produktionsteam Nerissa Schwarz/Andreas Hack an vorderster Front verantwortlich. Zudem geht auch die, von Schriftstellern wie Haruki Murakami oder dem japanischen Arthouse-Kino inspirierte, künstlerische Gesamtkonzeption auf das Konto der beiden Frequency Drift-Masterminds. Sie sind einmal mehr gleichzeitig Autor und Regisseur des cineastisch-musikalischen Ereignisses, das Letters to Maro dem Zuhörer bietet: Musik, Lyrik, Artwork und Videos, all diese Elemente fließen mit ein und schaffen ausufernde Welten und Bilder.

    Man wird sie nicht los, die Gespenster. Wie wunderbar!

    VeröffentlichungEU13.04.2018
    MediaCD (Digipak)GAOM056
    LP (2Vinyl)GAOM056LP
    LabelGentle Art Of Music
    VertriebSoulfood Music
    Irini Alexia (Gesang)
    Andreas Hack (Keyboards, Synthesizer, Gitarre, Bass, Mandoline)
    Nerissa Schwarz (Electroharfe, Mellotron, Synthesizer)
    Wolfgang Ostermann (Schlagzeug, Wavedrum)

    Gastmusiker:
    Michael Bauer (Gitarre (1&10))
    Marco Geipel (Live-Bass)

    01.) Dear Maro
    02.) Underground
    03.) Electricity
    04.) Neon
    05.) Deprivation
    06.) Izanami
    07.) Nine
    08.) Escalator
    09.) Sleep Paralysis
    10.) Who’s Master
    11.) Ghosts When It Rains

  2. Last

    Frequency Drift | Last

    Frequency Drift | Last Großes Kopfkino
    Frequency Drift sind die Cineasten der Szene. Mit seinem neuen Werk Last schickt sich das sechsköpfige Kollektiv aus Bayreuth einmal mehr an, aus Klängen, Bildern, Worten und Emotionen eine bild- und klanggewaltige Geschichte zu formen – und ignoriert dabei lustvoll alle Regeln. Die Verzweiflung ist greifbar, der Schmerz fühlbar und doch besteht die Chance zu Happy End. Vorhang auf für Last!
    Auf ihrem mittlerweile sechsten Album machen Frequency Drift einen wahren Quantensprung. Etwa findet man auf Last natürlich jene komplexen Klangwelten wieder, die seit jeher ein Markenzeichen sind und den Geschichten der Bayreuther als Kulisse dienen. Diesmal haben sich die Songwriter und Produzenten Andreas Hack und Nerissa Schwarz jedoch bewusst dafür entschieden, das Gesamtbild lebendiger, wärmer und insgesamt herausfordernder zu gestalten. Nie zuvor klang Frequency Drift grafischer, nie konnte der Hörer das Cineastische deutlicher spüren, fühlen, sehen… ja, erleben. Sobald das Licht im Saal erloschen ist, packt die Geschichte den Hörer.
    Auf dem neuen Album weigern sich Frequency Drift einmal mehr, die gemeinhin verwendeten Parameter des Genres als bindend zu akzeptieren. Auch diesmal wird wieder mit der innovativen Verfremdung des Sounds experimentiert, um die zerklüfteten Gefühlswelten noch eindringlicher darstellen zu können. So spielt nicht nur die E-Harfe mehr denn je ein eine Hauptrolle, sondern es finden sich auf Last auch die Klänge des Mellotron oder des Theremin. Zu hören gibt es atemberaubenden Bearbeitungen, welche die emotionale Wucht der Musik noch intensiver werden lassen.
    Überhaupt: das neue Werk ist definitiv das bisher kohärenteste und mutigste Album der Bandgeschichte. Musik, Texte und das Artwork im Booklet sind zu gleichen Maßen Säulen des Gesamtkunstwerks Last. Nur wenn diese drei Elemente zusammenwirken, kann man den enormen Umfang dieses Projekts wirklich zur Gänze begreifen und erleben. Frequency Drift machen nicht nur die Musik, sondern sie bringen den Film gleich mit.
    Man hat auf Last eine komplexe Welt geschaffen, in welcher der Protagonist alte Fotografien sammelt, die darin enthaltenen Stimmungen und Emotionen in sich aufsaugt und dabei zunehmend in die Besessenheit abdriftet. So erzählt jeder Song die Geschichte eines jener Fotos, die auf die Figuren der Handlung eine ebenso profunde Wirkung haben wie auf den Hörer.
    Frequency Drift fordert das Publikum in seiner Perzeption des Materials emotional und künstlerisch heraus, lässt jedoch stets genug Raum für eigene Assoziationen, was aus Last auch stets eine unterhaltsame Reise in die eigene Persönlichkeit macht. So läuft im Kopfkino des Hörers ein Film, dessen Eigenwilligkeit, Dynamik, Emotionalität und Wildheit ein faszinierendes und ebenso lustvolles Erlebnis für alle Sinne garantiert. Unterhaltung und intellektueller Anspruch greifen auf Last in die gleiche Popcorntüte.
    Andreas Hack und Nerissa Schwarz und ihre vier Mitstreiter haben mit Last ein Werk geschaffen, das die diversen Einflüsse mehr denn je zu einem intensiven Ganzen verschmelzen lässt, welches durch seine schiere Vielseitigkeit und die Freude am Ungewöhnlichen nicht nur Klischees und Genregrenzen ignoriert, sondern Frequency Drift auch in eine neue künstlerische Dimension hievt. Selten hat man sphärische Klangwelten so prächtig mit Ohrwurm-Melodien und der Komplexität eines überaus ambitionierten Ansatzes koexistieren sehen.
    Meine Damen und Herren, lehnen Sie sich zurück, schließen Sie die Augen und genießen Sie den Film!

    VeröffentlichungEU19.02.2016
    MediaCDGAOM043
    LabelGentle Art Of Music
    VertriebSoulfood Music
    Andreas Hack (keyboards, guitars)
    Nerissa Schwarz (harp, mellotron)
    Melli Mau (vocals)
    Martin Schnella (guitar)
    Rainer Wolf (bass)
    Wolfgang Ostermann (drums, percussion and strange sounds)
    01. Traces 7:08
    02. Diary 5:31
    03. Merry 5:08
    04. Shade 5:52
    05. Treasured 8:25
    06. Last Photo 7:59
    07. Hidden 5:34
    08. Asleep 8:31
  3. Over

    Frequency Drift | Over

    Frequency Drift Over Harfe, Cello, Violine, Flöte, Gemshorn – in einer Rockband? Wirklich? Ja! Auf ihrem neuen Album Over bringen Frequency Drift Einflüsse wie Pink Floyd, Renaissance und Filmmusik auf einen Nenner: Cinematic Progressive Rock. Klingt interessant? Ist es auch!

    Im Jahr 2007 von Keyboarder und Mastermind Andreas Hack gegründet legen die Bayreuther Frequency Drift mit Over nun mittlerweile ihr fünftes Studioalbum vor. Und gegenüber seinen hochgelobten Vorgängern zeigt die neue Scheibe nochmals eine enorme Weiterentwicklung. Mehr denn je stehen die Instrumente im Vordergrund und so gesellen sich zur oben genannten Vielfalt diesmal auch instrumentale Exoten wie die Duclar, eine Tin Whistle, verschiedene Harfen, eine Marimba oder eine Wavedrum. Damit betreten Frequency Drift im Rock-Kontext eine ganz neue Dimension, entgehen auf elegantem Wege der genrespezifischen Klischee-Falle und erschaffen auch noch eine musikalische Melange, die vom Prog-Fan über den Weltmusik-Liebhaber bis hin zum Klassik-Hörer für jeden etwas bereithält.

    Die Experimentierfreudigkeit zeigt sich auch in der Tatsache, dass man sich, entgegen den gängigen Gepflogenheiten, nicht auf eine einzelne Stimme festgelegt hat. Vielmehr singen mit der furiosen Neuentdeckung Isa Fallenbacher, die das Gros der Songs trägt, und der Jazz-trainierten Agathe Labus gleich zwei Sängerinnen die Texte, die dem Hörer sehr wohl als Stichwortgeber dienen, dabei aber stets Raum für Interpretationen lassen.

    Gerade inhaltlich birgt das fünfte Album der Süddeutschen eine nahezu beispiellose Tiefe. So befasst sich die Band mit dem Spannungsfeld Idylle–Zerfall und fusioniert dabei die urbanen und kühlen Klänge der Personal Effects Pt. 1 & Pt. 2 Scheiben aus der Frequency Drift-Frühphase mit den warmen und organischeren Klängen der letzten Alben Ghosts und Laid to Rest. Zusammengehalten durch eine noch größere harmonische und rhythmische Vielfalt entsteht so ein faszinierendes Meisterwerk, das durch die Coverbilder von Alina Rudya endgültig veredelt wird. Die Fotografien der Ukrainerin zeigen nämlich die seit der Tschernobyl-Katastrophe verlassene Heimatstadt der Künstlerin, Prypjat, in der trotz aller Lebensfeindlichkeit die Natur weiter ihren Weg macht. Entsprechend dieser Ästhetik kreieren Frequency Drift durch ihre Klangwelten eine surreale Atmosphäre aus Verlust, Verfall, Verlassenheit, aber auch Befreiung. Dass es dabei dank des großzügigen Einsatzes von Effekten nicht selten reichlich spacig zugeht, verstärkt diesen Eindruck nur.

    Indem sie sowohl bei den Arrangements als auch bei der Auswahl der Instrumente stets das Außergewöhnliche anstreben, erschaffen Frequency Drift einen eigenen Stil, den sie auch auf Over konsequent weiter verfolgen und noch um eine Fülle von Innovationen bereichern. Experimentierfreudigkeit wird hier zum Konzept. Sibylle Friz (Cello), Andreas Hack (Keyboard), Christian Hack (Gitarre, Flöte, Duclar, Wavedrum), Jasper Jöris (Gemshorn, Marimba), Ulrike Reichel (Violine, Viola), Tino Schmidt (Bass) und Nerissa Schwarz (Co-Songwriter, akustische und elektrische Harfe) haben für dieses eindrucksvolle Stück Musik mit RPWL-Mann Yogi Lang (Mix) eine überaus fruchtbare Allianz gebildet. Darüber hinaus hat man sich mit dem Gitarrenvirtuosen Martin Schnella (Flaming Row), Kalle Wallner (RPWL, Bass) und Drummer Phil Paul Rissettio (Ex-RPWL) obendrein noch drei Musiker ins Studio geholt, die dieses Album endgültig zu einem wirklichen Erlebnis machen.

    VeröffentlichtEU14.02.2014
    USA18.02.2014
    MediaCDGAOM021
    LabelGentle Art Of Music
    VertriebSoulfood Music
    Andreas Hack (keyboards, guitars, bass)
    Isa Fallenbacher (vocals)
    Agathe Labus (vocals)
    Nerissa Schwarz (electric harp)
    Christian Hack (guitar, bass)
    Steve Hohenberger (guitar)
    Martin Schnella (acoustic & electric guitars)
    Tino Schmidt (bass)
    Sibylle Friz (cello)
    Ulrike Reichel (violin, viola)
    Jasper Jöris (gemshorn)
    Phil Paul Rissettio (drums)
    Kalle Wallner (bass, guitars)
    01. Run
    02. Once
    03. Adrift
    04. Them
    05. Sagittarius A*
    06. Suspended
    07. Wave
    08. Wander
    09. Driven
    10. Release
    11. Memory
    12. Disappeared
  4. Laid To Rest

    Frequency Drift | Laid To Rest

    Frequency Drift Laid To Rest Was 2007 mit einem Konzert im Zuge eines Wettbewerbes begann, ist mittlerweile zu einem der Geheimtips in Deutschlands Prog-Szene avanciert: Frequency Drift bringen nun ihr viertes Album mit dem Titel „Laid To Rest“ auf dem RPWL-Label Gentle Art Of Music heraus. Jedoch legen sie sich mit dieser Scheibe noch lange nicht zur Ruhe: Pünktlich zu ihrem Auftritt beim legendären „Night Of The Prog“-Festival auf der Loreley am 6. Juli erscheint das neue Cinematic Prog Album von Frequency Drift.
    Bereits seit 5 Jahren sind die 7 Musiker rund um Initiator und Keyboarder Andreas Hack mit ihrer Band „Frequency Drift“ im Zeichen außergewöhnlicher Prog-Musik unterwegs. Die beiden thematisch verknüpften Debut-Alben „Personal Effects 1“ und „Personal Effects 2“, sowie der Nachfolger „Ghosts“ versetzten die Fans stimmungsvollen Progs in große Verzückung, und prägten den Begriff des „Cinematic Prog“ als Stilrichtung der Band. Dabei sticht besonders die außergewöhnliche Instrumentierung ins Auge, bzw. Ohr: Klarinetten, E-Harfen oder auch mittelalterliche Instrumente wie ein Gemshorn finden auf vielen der überlangen Songs gemeinsam mit Sängerin Antje Auer einen Platz. Die Texte – teils von romanischen und viktorianischen Gedichten inspiriert – verstehen sich nur als Beiwerk zu einem einzigartigen Klanggebilde. Doch dabei hat die Band keinerlei Anspruch daran, um jeden Preis außergewöhnlich zu sein: „Wir wollen Assoziationen beim Hörer wecken, und keine Bilder vorgeben. Unsere Musik will entdeckt werden, soll unser Publikum durch außergewöhnliche Instrumente aufwecken und herausfordern“, betont Mastermind Andreas Hack: „Ich bin froh dass wir mit Antje endlich eine mehr als würdige Frontfrau gefunden haben“. Den Auftritt auf dem renommierten „Night Of The Prog“ Festival 2012 nutzen Frequency Drift nun, um gemeinsam mit dem RPWL-Label Gentle Art Of Music ihr neuestes Werk „Laid To Rest“ zu veröffentlichen. Ab 6. Juni ist das Album überall erhältlich.

    „Still I gazed, and still the form
    Pressed upon my aching sight
    Still I braved the howling storm
    When the ghost dissolved in night.“

    (Frequency Drift – „Cold“, inspired by Percy Bysshe Shelley)

    Veröffentlicht06.07.2012
    MediaCDGAOM010
    LabelGentle Art Of Music
    VertriebSoulfood Music
    Antje Auer (vocals)
    Christian Hack (guitar, flutes, clarinette)
    Jürgen Rennecke (bass, stick)
    Nerissa Schwarz (harp)
    Andreas Hack (keyboards)
    Frank Schmitz (violin)
    Jasper Jöris (drums, percussion, gemshorn)

    Guest Appearances:
    Barbara Jöris (gemshorn & sev. mideval instruments)
    Thomas Epp: (clarinette)
    Alexander Galimbis (guitar)
    Martin Schnella (guitar)

    1. Dead
    2. Parted
    3. Cold
    4. Wish
    5. Ice
    6. Copper