Violent Jasper

Behind VIOLENT JASPER are none other than the two SYLVAN musicians Volker Söhl on keyboards and guitarist Johnny Beck, who have realized a personal dream with this project. Many guests complete the line-up, including the exceptional singer Caroline von Brünken (Wild As Her, RPWL) and Marco Glühmann (Sylvan).

Artist-Website: violentjasper.de/
Facebook: www.facebook.com/people/Violent-Jasper/
Instagram: www.instagram.com/violentjasper/

Volker Söhl – Keyboards & Piano (Sylvan)
Johnny Beck – Guitars & Bass (Sylvan)

Guests:
Caroline von Brünken – Vocals (Wild as Her, RPWL)
Marco Glühmann – Vocals (Sylvan)
Jens Lueck – Drums (Single Celled Organism)
Katja Flintsch – Violine & Viola
Otfried Beck – Oboe

Composed and produced by Volker Söhl & Johnny Beck

Coming soon

Diskography

  1. CONTROL

    Violent Jasper | CONTROL

    Cover Violent Jasper | ControlVolker Söhl’s love for film music stems way back to his early youth and is certainly also one of the strongest driving forces in the albums of his main band SYLVAN, founded in Hamburg in 1991. So it is hardly surprising that SYLVAN exceptional guitarist Johnny Beck perfects the core line-up of VIOLENT JASPER.

    However, here several protagonists step into action to let the epically expansive compositions unfold to their full bloom. The basic idea for the now available album “Control” was Sühl’s wish for a solo album with female vocals, which should lead through the narrative of a coherent concept album. This is provided elfinly, emotionally and precisely by Munich singer & dubbing artist Caroline von Brünken (CvB), who also works for RPWL, the flagship of the Freising-based label “Gentle Art of Music”. It’s a family affair.

    Basically, Volker Sühl’s albums can be compared to movies, they often follow a plot that culminates in a climax, on a purely compositional level not at all dissimilar to a classical sonata form. On “Control” both levels of meaning marry, just like in the almost endless universe of film music. Therefore, the use of orchestral instruments is almost mandatory. Finally, elements of classical music also come to the fore. Especially “Frontiers” and “Masquerade” with its harpsichord sounds testify to this. Therefore Katja Flintsch (violin & viola) and Ottfried Beck on the oboe round off the complete ensemble. Lovingly and in detail self-produced, with the help of co-producer Jens Lueck, who also congenially serves on the drums in personal union and on top is responsible for the crystal clear mix & mastering.

    Thematically, “Control” is dedicated to two core questions that are illuminated. The
    The interplay of our emotional world with our social reality determines the fragile spectacle of a functioning society. Emotions are the result of myriads of factors: Education, social status, intellect, trauma, sense of achievement…. merely: does the individual have control over emotions, or is he controlled by them in all decision making? And therefore, isn’t a controlled loss of control perhaps even desirable?

    Thematically, “Control” addresses two core questions that are illuminated. The interplay of all our emotions with our social reality determines the fragile spectacle of a functioning society. Emotions are the result of myriads of factors involved: Education, social status, intellect, trauma, sense of achievement…. merely: does the individual have control over emotions, or is he controlled by them in all decision making? And therefore, isn’t a controlled loss of control perhaps even desirable?

    The latter is the subject of “Stay”, for example, a track that deals with the short-sighted solution of using drugs to cope with problems. But this one will always seem like a band-aid on a bullet wound. Thematically, this emotional study ranges from lack of perspective (“Promise”), to arrogance and hubris (“Hail thee Mockery”) and inner emptiness (“Frontiers”). Ironically, it is in it that a peace is found and manifested in the reprise to the opener “Control,” albeit brittle and fragile. With that, the “Control” cycle closes and you’re left with an introspective journey that far exceeds the conventional confines of a standard solo album. Just as the human psyche is seemingly infinite. You simply have to figure out who is controlling it.

    Release 27 October 2023
    Media CD Digibook GAOM075
    Label Gentle Art Of Music
    Distribution Soulfood Music

    Streaming/Digital worldwide on any platform

    Volker Söhl – Keyboards & Piano (Sylvan)
    Johnny Beck – Guitars & Bass (Sylvan)

    Guests:
    Caroline von Brünken – Vocals (Wild as Her, RPWL)
    Marco Glühmann – Vocals (Sylvan)
    Jens Lueck – Drums (Single Celled Organism)
    Katja Flintsch – Violine & Viola
    Otfried Beck – Oboe

    Composed and produced by Volker Söhl & Johnny Beck

    Control 04:39
    Breathe 06:31
    Promise 04:29
    Masquerade 05:10
    Hail Thee Mockery 03:31
    Dark Flow 05:47
    Stay 04:56
    Desire 04:42
    Frontiers 05:38
    Control (Reprise) 05:43

    YouTube

    Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
    Mehr erfahren

    Video laden

Violent Jasper

Hinter VIOLENT JASPER verbergen sich keine geringeren als die beiden SYLVAN Musiker Volker Söhl an den Keyboards und Gitarrist Johnny Beck, die sich mit diesem Projekt einen persönlichen Traum verwirklicht haben. Viele Gäste komplettieren das Line-up, darunter die Ausnahmesängerin Caroline von Brünken (Wild As Her, RPWL) und Marco Glühmann (Sylvan).

Künstler-Website: violentjasper.de/
Facebook: www.facebook.com/people/Violent-Jasper/
Instagram: www.instagram.com/violentjasper/

Volker Söhl – Keyboards & Piano (Sylvan)
Johnny Beck – Guitars & Bass (Sylvan)

Gäste:
Caroline von Brünken – Vocals (Wild as Her, RPWL)
Marco Glühmann – Vocals (Sylvan)
Jens Lueck – Drums (Single Celled Organism)
Katja Flintsch – Violine & Viola
Otfried Beck – Oboe

Komponiert und produziert von Volker Söhl & Johnny Beck

Coming soon

Diskographie

  1. CONTROL

    Violent Jasper | CONTROL

    Cover Violent Jasper | ControlDie Liebe Volker Söhls zur Filmmusik reicht weit in seine frühen Jugendtage zurück und ist sicherlich auch eine der stärksten Triebfedern in den Alben seiner 1991 in Hamburg gegründeten Hauptband SYLVAN. So überrascht es auch nicht, dass SYLVAN-Ausnahme-Gitarrist Johnny Beck die Kernbesetzung von VIOLENT JASPER vervollkommnet.

    Allerdings treten hier mehrere Protagonisten in Aktion, um die episch ausladenden Kompositionen zu ihrer vollen Blüte entfalten zu lassen. Die Grundidee zum nun vorliegenden Album „Control“ war Sühls Wunsch nach einem Solo-Album mit weiblichem Gesang, der durch das Narrativ eines zusammenhängenden Konzeptalbums führen sollte. Gestellt wird dieser elfenhaft, emotional und präzise von der Münchner Sängerin & Synchronsprecherin Caroline von Brünken (CvB), die auch für RPWL tätig ist, das Flaggschiff des Freisinger Labels „Gentle Art of Music“. It’s a family affair.

    Im Grunde lassen sich Volker Sühls Alben mit Filmen vergleichen, sie folgen oft einem Plot, der in einem Climax gipfelt, auf rein kompositorischer Ebene wiederum einer Sonatensatzform gar nicht unähnlich. Auf „Control“ vermählen sich beide Bedeutungsebnen, eben wie im schier endlosen Universum der Filmmusik. Daher ist der Einsatz von Orchester-Instrumenten beinahe schon zwingend. Schließlich kommen auch Elemente aus klassischer Musik zur Geltung. Insbesondere „Frontiers“ und „Masquerade“ mit seinen Cembalo-Sounds bezeugen dies. Daher runden Katja Flintsch (Violine & Bratsche) und Ottfried Beck an der Oboe das komplette Ensemble ab. Liebevoll und detailliert selbst produziert, unter der Zuhilfenahme von Co-Produzent Jens Lueck, der in Personalunion kongenial auch die Drums bedient und sich für das glasklare Mix & Mastering verantwortlich zeigt.

    Thematisch widmet sich „Control“ zwei zwei Kernfragen, die ausgeleuchtet werden. Das Wechselspiel unser aller Gefühlswelt mit unserer sozialen Realität bestimmt das fragile Schauspiel einer funktionierenden Gesellschaft. Emotionen sind das Resultat von Myriaden an Faktoren: Bildung, sozialer Status, Intellekt, Traumata, Erfolgserlebnissen… lediglich: hat das Individuum die Kontrolle über die Gefühle, oder wird es von ihnen in allen Entscheidungsfindungen gesteuert? Und ist daher ein gesteuerter Kontrollverlust nicht vielleicht sogar erstrebenswert?

    Letzterem widmet sich zum Beispiel „Stay“, einem Track der sich mit der kurzsichtigen Lösung des Drogenkonsums zur Problembewältigung auseinandersetzt. Doch dieser wird immer wie ein Pflaster auf einer Schusswunde wirken. Thematisch reicht die Palette dieser Emotionsstudie von Perspektivlosigkeit („Promise“), über Arroganz und Hybris („Hail thee Mockery“) und innere Leere („Frontiers“). Ironischerweise wird gerade in ihr ein Frieden gefunden und in der Reprise zum Opener „Control“ manifestiert, wenn auch brüchig und zerbrechlich. Damit schließt sich der Zyklus „Control“ und man hat eine introspektive Reise hinter sich, die die konventionellen Grenzen eines üblichen Solo-Albums weit übertreffen. Eben wie die menschliche Psyche scheinbar unendlich ist. Man muss nur herausfinden, wer sie kontrolliert.

    Veröffentlichung 27. Oktober 2023
    Media CD Digibook GAOM 075 CD
    Label Gentle Art Of Music
    Vertrieb Soulfood Music

    Streaming/Digital weltweit auf allen Plattformen

    Volker Söhl – Keyboards & Piano (Sylvan)
    Johnny Beck – Guitars & Bass (Sylvan)

    Gäste:
    Caroline von Brünken – Vocals (Wild as Her, RPWL)
    Marco Glühmann – Vocals (Sylvan)
    Jens Lueck – Drums (Single Celled Organism)
    Katja Flintsch – Violine & Viola
    Otfried Beck – Oboe

    Komponiert und produziert von Volker Söhl & Johnny Beck

    Control 04:39
    Breathe 06:31
    Promise 04:29
    Masquerade 05:10
    Hail Thee Mockery 03:31
    Dark Flow 05:47
    Stay 04:56
    Desire 04:42
    Frontiers 05:38
    Control (Reprise) 05:43