Ally The Fiddle

Ally the FiddleLovers of the genre know – or think they do: progressive metal is dominated by massive guitar riffs and thundering drums. The North German sextet Ally the Fiddle celebrates both splendidly to the delight of its fans. But if you don’t know the band yet and are listening to their new album “UP”, you might be surprised. Here frontwoman Ally Storch has a decisive influence on the sound with various string instruments, especially on her virtuoso six-stringed electric violin. Reason enough for the musician from Berlin, also known as a member of the medieval rockers Subway to Sally and Schandmaul, to launch a new subgenre. So please take note: “UP” is progressive violin metal.

Artist-Website: www.ally-fiddle.de
Facebook: www.facebook.com/AllyTheFiddleBand/
YouTube: www.youtube.com/user/AllyTheFiddle

Ally Storch (strings, vocals)
Robert Klawonn (guitar)
Eric Langbecker (guitar)
Rouven Haliti (Chapman stick)
Simon Tumielewicz (bass)
Stefan Hukriede (drums)

Guest musicians
Marco Minnemann (The Aristocrats/The Mute Gods/Steven Wilson), drums (track 4)
Sebastian Baur and Alf Ator (Knorkator), vocals (tracks 5, 9)
Benni Cellini (Letzte Instanz), cello (track 5)
Jen Majura (Evanescense), guitar (track 6)
Felix Wiegand (Dick Brave and the Backbeats), double bass (track 1)

31Jul 2018

30 Aug 2018 | D-Frankfurt, Nachtleben
31 Aug 2018 | D-Hameln, Sumpfblume
02 Sep 2018 | D-Berlin, Nuke Club (RELEASE PARTY)
02 Nov 2018 | D-Leipzig, Mörtelwerk
03 Nov 2018 | D-Siegen, Lÿz

Coming soon.

Diskographie

  1. „UP“

    Ally the Fiddle | „UP“

    Ally the Fiddle UP Cover Progressive Violin Rock/Metal

    Lovers of the genre know – or think they do: progressive metal is dominated by massive guitar riffs and thundering drums. The North German sextet Ally the Fiddle celebrates both splendidly to the delight of its fans. But if you don’t know the band yet and are listening to their new album “UP”, you might be surprised. Here frontwoman Ally Storch has a decisive influence on the sound with various string instruments, especially on her virtuoso six-stringed electric violin. Reason enough for the musician from Berlin, also known as a member of the medieval rockers Subway to Sally and Schandmaul, to launch a new subgenre. So please take note: “UP” is progressive violin metal. The album will be released on September 14, 2018 by Gentle Art of Music on CD and digital. The CD edition comes with a booklet that folds up to form a mini poster.

    The classically trained violinist founded Ally the Fiddle in 2008, released the EP “Red Unicorn” in the same year, followed by the single “The Crumbling Autumn” (2011) – both were instrumental and still strongly influenced by folk music. On their debut album “The One”, financed by a successful crowdfunding campaign and released in 2013, Ally and her band turned to metal. Ally the Fiddle quickly gained a wide audience live on tours with Haggard, U.F.O., Bobby Kimball (Toto) and ASP as well as at numerous folk and rock festivals. They are now making their debut with the new label with a changed line-up and stylistically newly adjusted.

    Ally Storch explains: “For me, being progressive means to spin around thoughts and to further develop music. I actually don’t like to commit myself to one genre, so my music has many facets. In addition to prog and metal, it also contains characteristics of film scores as well as classic rock and, more recently, jazz rock”. What is special about her music is that as a matter of principle she doesn’t use artificial sounds from keyboards or synthesizers.

    When Ally Storch mentions jazz rock, she always does it with an exclamation mark. She has a special preference for it, which is reflected many times on “UP”. Among her idols is the American rock violinist Jerry Goodman, who achieved fame in the 1970s with the fusion bands The Flock and Mahavishnu Orchestra. That the now 69-year-old joins her as a guest musician is emphasized by Storch with obvious joy. Goodman can be heard on “Try to stop me”. Apart from the current regular line-up of Ally the Fiddle, drummer Marco Minnemann (The Aristocrats/The Mute Gods/Steven Wilson, on “The Path”), Sebastian Baur and Alf Ator of Knorkator (vocals on “Tree” and “Center Su(o)n”), cellist Benni Cellini of Letzte Instanz (“Tree”), the Evanescence guitarist Jen Majura (“Try to stop me”) and Felix Wiegand of Dick Brave and the Backbeats on double bass (“Sisyphos”) are also part of the project. The recording was directed by Knorkator producer Henning Westland.

    Distribution 14.09.2018
    Media CD GAOM059
    Label Gentle Art Of Music
    Distribution Soulfood Music
    Ally Storch (strings, vocals)
    Robert Klawonn (guitar)
    Eric Langbecker (guitar)
    Rouven Haliti (Chapman stick)
    Simon Tumielewicz (bass)
    Stefan Hukriede (drums)

    Guest musicians
    Marco Minnemann (The Aristocrats/The Mute Gods/Steven Wilson), drums (track 4)
    Sebastian Baur and Alf Ator (Knorkator), vocals (tracks 5, 9)
    Benni Cellini (Letzte Instanz), cello (track 5)
    Jen Majura (Evanescense), guitar (track 6)
    Felix Wiegand (Dick Brave and the Backbeats), double bass (track 1)

    01 Sisyphos
    02 Aphotic Zone
    03 The Bass Thing
    04 The Path
    05 Tree
    06 Try to stop me
    07 Living in a Bubble
    08 Entering Stratosphere
    09 Center Su(o)n
    10 Surfing with the Alien (Bonustrack)

Ally The Fiddle

Ally the FiddleLiebhaber des Genres wissen Bescheid, vermeintlich zumindest: Demnach ist Progressive Metal vorwiegend von wuchtigen Gitarrenriffs und donnernden Drums dominiert. Beides zelebriert auch das norddeutsche Sextett Ally the Fiddle zur Freude seiner Fans vortrefflich. Wer die Gruppe noch nicht kennt und sich deren neue Platte „UP“ zu Gemüte führt, dürfte jedoch überrascht sein. Denn hier prägt Frontfrau Ally Storch mit verschiedenen Streichinstrumenten ganz maßgeblich das Klangbild, vor allem an ihrer virtuos gespielten sechssaitigen elektrischen Geige. Grund genug für die auch als Mitglied der Mittelalterrocker Subway to Sally und Schandmaul bekannte Berlinerin, mal eben ein neues Subgenre aus der Taufe zu heben. Achtung also: „UP“ ist Progressive Violin Metal.

Künstler-Website: www.ally-fiddle.de
Facebook: www.facebook.com/AllyTheFiddleBand/
YouTube: www.youtube.com/user/AllyTheFiddle
SmartURL: smarturl.it/AllyTheFiddle_Up

Ally Storch (Streichinstrumente, Gesang)
Robert Klawonn (E-Gitarre)
Eric Langbecker (E-Gitarre)
Rouven Haliti (Chapman Stick)
Simon Tumielewicz (Bass)
Stefan Hukriede (Schlagzeug)

Gastmusiker
Marco Minnemann (The Aristocrats/The Mute Gods/Steven Wilson), Schlagzeug (Track 4)
Sebastian Baur und Alf Ator (Knorkator), Gesang (Tracks 5, 9)
Benni Cellini (Letzte Instanz), Cello (Track 5)
Jen Majura (Evanescense), Gitarre (Track 6)
Felix Wiegand (Dick Brave and the Backbeats), Kontrabass (Track 1)

31Jul 2018

30 Aug 2018 | D-Frankfurt, Nachtleben
31 Aug 2018 | D-Hameln, Sumpfblume
02 Sep 2018 | D-Berlin, Nuke Club (RELEASE PARTY)
02 Nov 2018 | D-Leipzig, Mörtelwerk
03 Nov 2018 | D-Siegen, Lÿz
08 Dec 2018 | D-Bassum, Gilde Festhalle

Diskographie

  1. UP

    Ally the Fiddle | „UP“

    Ally the Fiddle UP Cover Progressive Violin Rock/Metal
    Liebhaber des Genres wissen Bescheid, vermeintlich zumindest: Demnach ist Progressive Metal vorwiegend von wuchtigen Gitarrenriffs und donnernden Drums dominiert. Beides zelebriert auch das norddeutsche Sextett Ally the Fiddle zur Freude seiner Fans vortrefflich. Wer die Gruppe noch nicht kennt und sich deren neue Platte „UP“ zu Gemüte führt, dürfte jedoch überrascht sein. Denn hier prägt Frontfrau Ally Storch mit verschiedenen Streichinstrumenten ganz maßgeblich das Klangbild, vor allem an ihrer virtuos gespielten sechssaitigen elektrischen Geige. Grund genug für die auch als Mitglied der Mittelalterrocker Subway to Sally und Schandmaul bekannte Berlinerin, mal eben ein neues Subgenre aus der Taufe zu heben. Achtung also: „UP“ ist Progressive Violin Metal. Das Album erscheint am 14. September 2018 bei Gentle Art of Music als CD und digital. Der CD-Ausgabe ist ein zum Miniposter auffaltbares Booklet beigegeben.

    Die klassisch ausgebildete Geigerin gründete Ally the Fiddle 2008. Noch im selben Jahr erschien die EP „Red Unicorn“, 2011 folgte die Single „The Crumbling Autumn“ (2011) – beide waren instrumental gehalten und noch stark Folk-beeinflusst. Auf dem mittels einer erfolgreichen Crowdfunding-Kampagne finanzierten und 2013 veröffentlichten Debütalbum „The One“ wandten Ally und ihre Band sich dann dem Metal zu. Live erspielten Ally the Fiddle sich bei Touren mit Haggard, U.F.O., Bobby Kimball (Toto) und ASP sowie bei zahlreichen Folk- und Rockfestivals rasch ein breites Publikum. Ihren Einstand beim neuen Label geben sie jetzt mit veränderter Besetzung und stilistisch wiederum neu justiert.

    Ally Storch erklärt dazu: „Progressiv sein bedeutet für mich, Gedanken zu spinnen und Musik weiterzuentwickeln. Eigentlich mag ich mich nicht auf ein Genre festlegen, deshalb hat meine Musik viele Facetten. Neben Prog und Metal finden sich in ihr auch filmmusikalische Züge sowie Classic- und neuerdings Jazzrock.“ Eine Besonderheit dabei: Auf künstliche Klänge aus Keyboards oder von Synthesizern verzichtet sie grundsätzlich.

    Wenn Ally Storch Jazzrock erwähnt, schwingt stets ein Ausrufezeichen mit. Für ihn hegt sie eine spezielle Vorliebe, die sich auf „UP“ vielfach niederschlägt. Zu ihren Idolen zählt der mit den Fusion-Bands The Flock und Mahavishnu Orchestra in den 1970er-Jahren zu Ruhm gelangte amerikanische Rockgeiger Jerry Goodman. Dass sie den inzwischen 69-Jährigen als Gastmusiker gewinnen konnte, betont Storch mit sichtlicher Freude, zu hören ist Goodman bei „Try to stop me“. Abseits der derzeitigen Stammbesetzung von Ally the Fiddle sind hier zudem unter anderem Schlagzeuger Marco Minnemann (The Aristocrats/The Mute Gods/Steven Wilson, bei „The Path“), Sebastian Baur und Alf Ator von Knorkator (Gesang bei „Tree“ bzw. „Center Su(o)n“), Cellist Benni Cellini von Letzte Instanz („Tree“), die Evanescence-Gitarristin Jen Majura („Try to stop me“) und Felix Wiegand von Dick Brave and the Backbeats (Kontrabass bei „Sisyphos“) mit von der Partie. Die Aufnahme geleitet hat Knorkator-Produzent Henning Westland.

    Veröffentlicht 14.09.2018
    Media CD GAOM059
    Label Gentle Art Of Music
    Vertrieb Soulfood Music
    Ally Storch (Streichinstrumente, Gesang)
    Robert Klawonn (E-Gitarre)
    Eric Langbecker (E-Gitarre)
    Rouven Haliti (Chapman Stick)
    Simon Tumielewicz (Bass)
    Stefan Hukriede (Schlagzeug)

    Gastmusiker
    Marco Minnemann (The Aristocrats/The Mute Gods/Steven Wilson), Schlagzeug (Track 4)
    Sebastian Baur und Alf Ator (Knorkator), Gesang (Tracks 5, 9)
    Benni Cellini (Letzte Instanz), Cello (Track 5)
    Jen Majura (Evanescense), Gitarre (Track 6)
    Felix Wiegand (Dick Brave and the Backbeats), Kontrabass (Track 1)

    01 Sisyphos
    02 Aphotic Zone
    03 The Bass Thing
    04 The Path
    05 Tree
    06 Try to stop me
    07 Living in a Bubble
    08 Entering Stratosphere
    09 Center Su(o)n
    10 Surfing with the Alien (Bonustrack)