Aaron Brooks

Aaron BrooksAaron Brooks, the singer and songwriter of the acclaimed American psychedelic rock band Simeon Soul Charger, returns with this album after a two-year leave from the music scene. In 2011 he moved to Germany with his band and over the years they garnered a large fan base all over Europe. In 2016 the Soul Chargers disbanded, their members following their own musical paths and with “Homunculus” we now hold the result of Aaron’s creative break in our hands. And it is spectacular!

Artist-Website: www.aaronbrooks.net
Facebook: www.facebook.com/AaronBrooksMusic
SmartURL: smarturl.it/A.Brooks_Homunculus

Aaron Brooks: vocals, guitar
Beni Wiedemann: piano, keyboards
Max Huber: drums
Stefan Rossinger: guitar
Joachim Schwarz: bass
Susi Salomon: violin
Sandra Rieger: violin
Isabel Schlegel: cello

Guest musicians:
Kalle Wallner (RPWL): guitar, bass
Yogi Lang (RPWL): keyboards
Hansi Enzensperger (ORGAN EXPLOSION): keyboards
Peter Savee: banjo
Karl Muskini: trombone

Produced by Yogi Lang,

10Aug 2018

22 Jun 2019 | D-Eichstätt, Refugium Festival
20 Jul 2019 | D-Landshut, Altstadt-Festival
30 Jul 2019 | D-Erding, Sinnflut-Festival
28 Sep 2019 | D-Rheine, Hypothalamus (w/ Ray Wilson)
06 Oct 2019 | D-Mossburg, Jazzclub Hirsch
18 Oct 2019 | D-Passau, Zauberberg
07 Dec 2019 | D-Regen, Oberstübchen

Diskography

  1. Homunculus

    Aaron Brooks | „Homunculus“

    Aaron Brooks | Homunculus Light in the dark

    A room full of soldiers. A woman in a red dress sings to them, a cigarette holder in her hand. If you close your eyes to the music of Aaron Brooks on his solo debut “Homunculus”, films shoot straight into your head. Dark films, cynical films, wild films – like Tim Burton’s animated features – and then there are always those spectacular moments when the sun rises.

    Aaron Brooks, the songwriter of the acclaimed American psychedelic rock band Simeon Soul Charger, returns with this album after a two-year leave from the music scene. In 2011 he moved to Germany with his band and over the years they garnered a large fan base all over Europe. In 2016 the Soul Chargers disbanded, their members following their own musical paths and with “Homunculus” we now hold the result of Aaron’s creative break in our hands. And it is spectacular!

    In the opener “Consume” Aaron Brooks presents his cynical side and the razor-sharp view of our numb, morally degenerate consumer society. Bass and drums lay the dry grooving foundation that you would never have expected on a songwriter album. “Wake Up the Mountain”conveys a life wasted. Sad, almost depressing, Aaron’s crystal clear voice sounds over a wonderful piano carpet. And towards the end the mountain really does wake up, when – orchestral and cinematic – distorted guitars, strings and monumental choirs set in. Associations with Muse cannot be denied. And why should they be? Many of the varied songs on his album are progressive, not to make things complicated, but to surprise and inspire, especially when the door is ripped open and the light flows into the dark room.

    Compared to Simeon Soul Charger, Aaron Brooks also shows us slower, more melancholic songs. The piano often plays a leading role, as well as strings and orchestral percussion. His inspiration most often comes from personal experiences, be it the very important encounters with people on his tours or the dark, depressive moments. After thirteen exciting songs in changing line-ups, Aaron once again looks critically at our society with “Digital”, accompanied by synthesizers and sophisticated choirs.

    Aaron’s solo debut “Homunculus” was produced by Yogi Lang, one of the two heads of RPWL and label director of Gentle Art Of Music. His RPWL and label colleague Kalle Wallner contributed a lot of guitars, while Lang provided the excellent sound as he did in the past for artists like Ray Wilson.

    You can simply sense that Aaron loves writing music and recording it in the studio, yes, he needs it – it’s a kind of catharsis for him. It’s nice that he lets us participate in this process and floods all the darkness with light again and again.

    Release 21.09.2018
    Media CD (Digisleeve) GAOM060
    Vinyl GAOM060LP
    Label Gentle Art Of Music
    Distribution Soulfood Music
    Aaron Brooks: vocals, guitar
    Beni Wiedemann: piano, keyboards
    Max Huber: drums
    Stefan Rossinger: guitar
    Joachim Schwarz: bass
    Susi Salomon: violin
    Sandra Rieger: violin
    Isabel Schlegel: cello

    Guest musicians:
    Kalle Wallner (RPWL): guitar, bass
    Yogi Lang (RPWL): keyboards
    Hansi Enzensperger (ORGAN EXPLOSION): keyboards
    Peter Savee: banjo
    Karl Muskini: trombone

    Produced by Yogi Lang,

    01) Consume
    02) You’re Just a Picture in a Frame
    03) Wake Up the Mountain
    04) Everybody Dies
    05) Lies
    06) Jesus
    07) By Your Halo or the Fork of Your Tongue
    08) Nobody Knows What it’s Like to be Someone Else
    09) The Idiot
    10) Bodega, Bodega
    11) I’m Afraid
    12) What is a Man but an Animal’s End
    13) Digital

Aaron Brooks

Aaron BrooksAaron Brooks, der Sänger und Songwriter der bejubelten amerikanischen Psychedelic-Rockband Simeon Soul Charger kehrt mit diesem Album aus einer zweijährigen Abstinenz von der Musikszene zurück. 2011 zog er mit seiner Band nach Deutschland und im Laufe der Jahre erspielten sie sich eine große Fanbase in ganz Europa. 2016 lösten sich die Soul Chargers auf, ihre Mitglieder wollten eigene musikalische Wege beschreiten und das Resultat von Aarons Kreativitätspause halten wir nun mit „Homunculus“ in Händen. Es ist spektakulär geworden!

Künstler-Website: www.aaronbrooks.net
Facebook: www.facebook.com/AaronBrooksMusic
SmartURL: smarturl.it/A.Brooks_Homunculus

Aaron Brooks: Gesang, Gitarre
Beni Wiedemann: Piano, Keyboards
Max Huber: Schlagzeug
Stefan Rossinger: Gitarre
Joachim Schwarz: Bass
Susi Salomon: Geige
Sandra Rieger: Geige
Isabel Schlegel: Cello

Gastmusiker:
Kalle Wallner (RPWL): Gitarre, Bass
Yogi Lang (RPWL): Keyboards
Hansi Enzensperger (ORGAN EXPLOSION): Keyboards
Peter Savee: Banjo
Karl Muskini: Posaune

Produziert von Yogi Lang.

10Aug 2018

21 Sep 2018 | D-Freising, Furtner (CD release party)
07 Oct 2018 | D-Landshut, Schwarzer Hahn
13 Oct 2018 | D-Bamberg, Stilbruch
20 Oct 2018 | I-Sora (Frosinone), Deliri Cafe Bistrot
25 Oct 2018 | I-Napoli, Magma Cocktail Officina
26 Oct 2018 | I-Cassano delle Murge, Pecora Nera Country Club
27 Oct 2018 | I-Caserta, Manhatten Bar
02 Nov 2018 | CZ-Černosice, Club Kino
03 Nov 2018 | CZ-Domazlice
04 Nov 2018 | CZ-Hosin
09 Nov 2018 | I-Pescara, Scumm
10 Nov 2018 | I-Guidonia (Rome), Golden Pot
15 Nov 2018 | I-Rezzato, Red Dog RnR Bar
17 Nov 2018 | I-Vigevano, Cooperativa Portalupi
18 Nov 2018 | I-Allessandria, Bike Bar And Bikers
21 Nov 2018 | I-Pavia, Sottovento
23 Nov 2018 | I-Novellara, Sisten Irish Pub
24 Nov 2018 | I-Brescia, Alberodonte Ridengo Saiano
25 Nov 2018 | I-Borno, Bottega 1892
29 Nov 2018 | I-Turin, Cafe Sofa
08 Dec 2018 | D-Regen, Oberstübchen
12 Jan 2019 | D-Passau, Zauberberg
13 Jan 2019 | D-Moosburg, Jazz Club Hirsch
23 Jan 2019 | D-München, Milla Club
25 Jan 2019 | D-Dachau, Freiraum
01 Feb 2019 | D-Straubing, Raven
23 Feb 2019 | D-Freising, Lindenkeller

02 Apr 2019 | UK-London, Boston Music Room (w/ RPWL)
03 Apr 2019 | UK-Bilston, The Robin (w/ RPWL)
05 Apr 2019 | UK-Chepstow, Winter’s End Festival (w/ RPWL)
07 Apr 2019 | NL-Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (w/ RPWL)
08 Apr 2019 | DE-Bremen, Meisenfrei (w/ RPWL)
09 Apr 2019 | DE-Hamburg, Logo (w/ RPWL)
11 Apr 2019 | PL-Warsaw, Progresja (w/ RPWL)
12 Apr 2019 | PL-Piekary Slaskie, Andaluzja (w/ RPWL)
13 Apr 2019 | PL-Poznan/Suchy Las, tba. (w/ RPWL)
14 Apr 2019 | DE-Reichenbach, Artrock-Festival (w/ RPWL)
22 Apr 2019 | CH-Pratteln, Z7 (w/ RPWL)
25 Apr 2019 | DE-Oberhausen, Zentrum Altenberg (w/ RPWL)
26 Apr 2019 | DE-Aschaffenburg, Colos-Saal (w/ RPWL)

Diskographie

  1. Homunculus

    Aaron Brooks | „Homunculus“

    Ally the Fiddle UP Cover Licht in der Dunkelheit
    Ein Raum voller Soldaten. Eine Frau im roten Kleid singt für sie, eine Zigarettenspitze in der Hand. Schließt man die Augen zu der Musik von Aaron Brooks auf seinem Solodebüt „Homunculus“ so schießen einem direkt Filme in den Kopf. Dunkle Filme, zynische Filme, wilde Filme – wie die Animationsstreifen von Tim Burton – und dann gibt es immer wieder diese spektakulären Momente, in denen die Sonne aufgeht.

    Aaron Brooks, der Songwriter der bejubelten amerikanischen Psychedelic-Rockband Simeon Soul Charger kehrt mit diesem Album aus einer zweijährigen Abstinenz von der Musikszene zurück. 2011 zog er mit seiner Band nach Deutschland und im Laufe der Jahre erspielten sie sich eine große Fanbase in ganz Europa. 2016 lösten sich die Soul Chargers auf, ihre Mitglieder wollten eigene musikalische Wege beschreiten und das Resultat von Aarons Kreativitätspause halten wir nun mit „Homunculus“ in Händen. Es ist spektakulär geworden!

    Direkt im Opener „Consume“ präsentiert Aaron Brooks seine zynische Seite und die messerscharfe Sicht auf unsere betäubte, moralisch verkommene Konsumgesellschaft. Bass und Schlagzeug legen das trocken groovende Fundament, das man so gar nicht auf einem Songwriteralbum erwartete hätte. „Wake Up the Mountain“ dreht sich um den Gedanken, dass man sein Leben verschwendet hat. Traurig, fast schon depressiv, klingt Aarons glasklare Stimme über einem wunderbaren Pianoteppich. Und gegen Ende wacht der Berg tatsächlich auf: Orchestral und cineastisch setzen verzerrte Gitarren, Streicher und monumentale Chöre ein. Assoziationen an Muse sind nicht wegzuwischen. Warum auch? Progressiv sind viele der abwechslungsreichen Songs auf seinem Album, aber nicht um Dinge kompliziert zu machen, sondern um zu überraschen und mitzureißen. Besonders dann, wenn die Tür aufgerissen wird und das Licht in den dunklen Raum strömt.

    Im Vergleich zu Simeon Soul Charger zeigt uns Aaron Brooks aber auch langsamere, melancholischere Songs. Das Klavier übernimmt oft einen tragenden Part, aber eben auch Streicher und das Schlagwerk eines Orchesters. Seine Inspiration stammt mehr von persönlichen Erfahrungen, seien es die ihm sehr wichtigen Begegnungen mit Menschen bei seinen Tourneen oder eben die düsteren, depressiven Momente. Nach dreizehn aufregenden Songs in wechselnden Besetzungen blickt Aaron mit „Digital“ noch einmal kritisch auf unsere Gesellschaft, untermalt von Synthesizern und raffinierten Chören.

    Produziert wurde Aarons Solodebüt „Homunculus“ von Yogi Lang, einem der beiden Köpfe von RPWL und Labelchef von Gentle Art Of Music. Sein RPWL- und Labelkollege Kalle Wallner steuerte eine ganze Menge Gitarren bei, während Lang für den exzellenten Sound sorgte, wie er es in der Vergangenheit auch für Künstler wie Ray Wilson getan hat.

    Man merkt Aaron Brooks einfach an, dass er das Schreiben von Musik und das Aufnehmen im Tonstudio liebt, ja braucht – es bildet eine Art Katharsis für ihn. Schön, dass er uns an diesem Prozess teilhaben lässt und all die Dunkelheit immer wieder mit Licht flutet.

    Veröffentlicht 21.09.2018
    Media CD (Digisleeve) GAOM060
    Vinyl GAOM060LP
    Label Gentle Art Of Music
    Vertrieb Soulfood Music
    Aaron Brooks: Gesang, Gitarre
    Beni Wiedemann: Piano, Keyboards
    Max Huber: Schlagzeug
    Stefan Rossinger: Gitarre
    Joachim Schwarz: Bass
    Susi Salomon: Geige
    Sandra Rieger: Geige
    Isabel Schlegel: Cello

    Gastmusiker:
    Kalle Wallner (RPWL): Gitarre, Bass
    Yogi Lang (RPWL): Keyboards
    Hansi Enzensperger (ORGAN EXPLOSION): Keyboards
    Peter Savee: Banjo
    Karl Muskini: Posaune

    Produziert von Yogi Lang.

    01) Consume
    02) You’re Just a Picture in a Frame
    03) Wake Up the Mountain
    04) Everybody Dies
    05) Lies
    06) Jesus
    07) By Your Halo or the Fork of Your Tongue
    08) Nobody Knows What it’s Like to be Someone Else
    09) The Idiot
    10) Bodega, Bodega
    11) I’m Afraid
    12) What is a Man but an Animal’s End
    13) Digital