Crystal Palace

After three years the German art rock powerhouse Crystal Palace is back with a brand new record entitled ‘Dawn Of Eternity’. Yogi Lang of RPWL has assumed responsibility of the sound.

The first step is almost always the most difficult – especially when you are aiming for eternity, because… well, eternity is quite an aspiration. Mastering a task of such proportions certainly takes a real-life Hercules – or Crystal Palace, as the Berliners prove in the most impressive manner on their new record ‘Dawn of Eternity’.

 

Artist-Website: www.crystalpalacemusic.de

Yenz (vocals, bass)
Frank Köhler (keyboards)
Tom Ronney (drums)
Nils Conrad (guitars)
16Mar 2015

21 June 2017 | D-Gera, Fete De La Musique
02 September 2017 | CZ-Prag, Lucerna

Crystal Palace | Dawn Of Eternity | CD

14,90 

Includes 19% Mwst.

Crystal Palace | The System Of Events | CD

14,90 

Includes 19% Mwst.

Crystal Palace | Reset | CD

12,90 

Includes 19% Mwst.

Diskography

  1. Dawn Of Eternity

    Crystal Palace | Dawn Of Eternity

    Frustration, Evolution, Fascination

    The first step is almost always the most difficult – especially when you are aiming for eternity, because… well, eternity is quite an aspiration. Mastering a task of such proportions certainly takes a real-life Hercules – or Crystal Palace, as the Berliners prove in the most impressive manner on their new record Dawn of Eternity.
    Changes in the band’s lineup are a common reason for problems, or even the eventual demise of groups. Countless times promising bands have drowned in the dangerous waters of the inevitable problems that have to be dealt with through the years. However, the exact opposite effect can also be the case. So who could predict that Crystal Palace would be able to not only find the perfect replacement for departing drummer Frank Brennekam in Tom Ronney? And also, who knew that, furthermore, the new addition would become the deciding catalyst that would not only spur on the band’s musical evolution but simultaneously act as a regulative in the difficult process of coming to terms with Tom’s predecessor’s departure? Well, obviously some things just cannot be planned ahead, which in hindsight probably makes having been forced to change the lineup a lucky twist of fate.
    While Crystal Palace’s sound was incredibly heavy and direct on the last album, The System of Events, the Berliners meanwhile reach a lot further: they put themselves into distant spheres and thus manage to embrace all the aforementioned changes in an act of emancipation from the status quo – taking the bull by its horns, if you will. Dawn of Eternity still brings an enormous force to the table, but by reducing the degree of brutality the band created an inherent increase of free space that allows for the much more thorough realization of the songwriting’s very picturesque conception, which, in return, gives the application of the steam hammer of earlier days much more precision.
    After more than twenty years of existence there is always the massive danger of stepping into the traps of monotonousness, which can give continuous recycling of the past the treacherous sparkle of real creativity and bold inventing. Considering that, making the quantum leap that is Dawn of Eternity is all the more remarkable. The band simply went along with the radical changes, made virtue of necessity, and in the process lifted the music’s foundation to the next artistic level.
    While in earlier days the band very dashingly moved in many different directions and tried a lot of different approaches from record to record, on this record there is an unmistakable focus, which becomes all the more clear when one takes a look at the elegant structures of the songwriting. On Dawn of Eternity stringent ideas collide with the explosive power of the unconventional experiments that have made The System of Events one of the critical successes of Europe’s progressive rock year 2013.
    Through these eleven pieces Crystal Palace have shaken off their shackles and finally dare to unfold all the way. The connecting piece, and thus in some way the gate to eternity, is the song Any Colour You Need, which is dedicated to the band’s former drummer and deals with the difficult separation as well as the magnificent relationship that the two parties have managed to maintain to this day. And ultimately Dawn of Eternity is a form of exactly that: an eleven songs-strong symbol of the existential transition from chaos, turbulence and looming decay, into a state of longevity and stability that simultaneously encourages the preservation of a continuous development of progress.
    The regular lineup of Nils Conrad (guitar), Frank Köhler (keyboards), Tom Ronney (drums) and Jenz Uwe Strutz (vocals, bass) has dared to take the leap of faith into the unknown, fearlessly walked through harsh depths and has finally emerged as the triumphant winner from the struggles with personal demons.
    The first step is completed. From now on, nothing will stop Crystal Palace – next stop: eternity.

    Veröffentlicht 10th of June 2016
    Media CD GAOM045
    Label Gentle Art Of Music
    Vertrieb Soulfood Music
    Yenz (vocals, bass)
    Frank Köhler (keyboards)
    Tom Ronney (drums)
    Nils Conrad (guitars)
    01. Dawn (2:35)
    02. Confess Your Crime (8:26)
    03. Eternal Step (6:31)
    04. Any Colour You Need (8:19)
    05. Daylight After The Rain (3:32)
    06. Fields Of Consciousness (6:35)
    07. Hearts On Sale (5:45)
    08. Eternity (2:00)
    09. All Of This (5:43)
    10. Sky Without Stars (5:21)
    11. The Day That doesn’t End (4.15)
  2. The System Of Events

    Crystal Palace | The System Of Events

    Crystal Palace The System Of Events German art rock powerhouse Crystal Palace is back with a brand new record entitled “The System of Events”. On it they ask: “Is there a formula that determines our lives?” Well, we will see about that… However, the Berlin four-piece has most definitely solved an entirely different mystery: what does an art rock-album have to sound like these days? The answer: it has to sound like “The System of Events”! With the help of a dream team a real gemstone of an album has emerged.
    After numerous releases, critical acclaim from all across the world and the production of a fan-anthem for Germany’s leading ice hockey club, Crystal Palace has now teamed up with the label Gentle Art of Music and are set to release a piece of work on 04 October that once and for all establishes the band as a driving force among the German art rock community. “The System of Events” distinguishes itself through courageous songwriting, intelligent arrangements and a compelling storyline that takes the listener on a thrilling journey of eight brilliantly crafted songs: Is there a formula that determines our lives or do we have matters in our own hands?
    The title song, for instance, deals with how people are forced to adapt to entirely new circumstances of living after disastrous strokes of fate hit. Be it coming to terms with the inhumane brutality of the Norwegian Breivik-killing spree, the anger that followed the nuclear disaster of Fukushima or coping with the very personal grief after the untimely death of a close relative. In their compositions Crystal Palace artfully merges these emotions with musical virtuosity and thus creates songs that touch music lovers – even beyond the borders of the art rock genre.
    On “The System of Events”, once again, Crystal Palace is evocative of legendary role models like Marillion, Dream Theater or Genesis. And yet, the band still goes its very own way because the primary and foremost intent behind the quartet’s music is to reach people. From the first second one can not only heard but even feel that “The System of Events” is a real labor of love that has emerged from pure passion. The art rock that these Berliners play keeps morphing into “goose bumps rock”.
    To accomplish the mammoth task of this ambitious project, Crystal Palace has gathered a squad that makes the heart of every fan race: Yogi Lang of RPWL has assumed responsibility of the sound. He immersed into the music and brilliantly succeeded in underlining the subtle complexity that constitutes the distinctive character of the songs on “The System of Events.” Moreover, Crystal Palace summoned international superstar Colin Edwin of Porcupine Tree and has thus managed to get a real heavyweight of the art rock scene onboard. The dream team is ultimately completed by RPWL’s guitarist Kalle Wallner, who, in the title song, also contributes to perfect the masterpiece that is this album.
    That leaves us with only one more question to ask: is there a formula to our lives or not? Is there such a thing as a “System of Events?” Well, in case there is, “The System of Events” shows: the formula means well towards art rock fans all over the world.

    Release 04. Oktober 2013
    Media CD GAOM019
    Label Gentle Art Of Music
    Distribution Soulfood Music
    Yenz (vocals, bass)
    Frank Köhler (keyboards)
    Frank Brennekam (drums)
    Nils Conrad (guitars)
    01. Chasing Better Days
    02. As Heaven Dies
    03. Beautiful Nighmare
    04. Green Way
    05. Sleepless
    06. Stunned By The Silence
    07. Breathe
    08. The System Of Events

Crystal Palace

Drei Jahre haben sie daran gearbeitet, jetzt ist es endlich soweit: “Dawn Of Eternity“ heißt das neue Album der deutschen Artrock-Größe Crystal Palace. Für den Sound zeichnet sich erneut RPWL-Mann Yogi Lang verantwortlich.

Der erste Schritt ist meist der schwierigste – zumal wenn man die Unendlichkeit anstrebt, denn… nun ja, die Unendlichkeit ist ja kein Pappenstiel. Zur Bewältigung einer solchen Aufgabe braucht es insofern schon einen Herkules. Oder eben Crystal Palace, wie die Berliner auf „Dawn of Eternity“ eindrucksvoll beweisen.

 

Künstler-Website: www.crystalpalacemusic.de

Yenz (vocals, bass)
Frank Köhler (keyboards)
Tom Ronney (drums)
Nils Conrad (guitars)
16Mrz 2015

06 Apr 2018 | D-Reichenbach, Artrock-Festival
07 Apr 2018 | D-Oberhausen Zentrum Altenberg (w/ Jadis)

Crystal Palace | Dawn Of Eternity | CD

14,90 

Enthält 19% Mwst.
zzgl. Versand

Crystal Palace | The System Of Events | CD

14,90 

Enthält 19% Mwst.
zzgl. Versand

Crystal Palace | Reset | CD

12,90 

Enthält 19% Mwst.
zzgl. Versand

Diskographie

  1. Dawn Of Eternity

    Crystal Palace | Dawn Of Eternity

    Frustration, Evolution, Faszination

    Der erste Schritt ist meist der schwierigste – zumal wenn man die Unendlichkeit anstrebt, denn… nun ja, die Unendlichkeit ist ja kein Pappenstiel. Zur Bewältigung einer solchen Aufgabe braucht es insofern schon einen Herkules. Oder eben Crystal Palace, wie die Berliner auf Dawn of Eternity eindrucksvoll beweisen.

    Besetzungswechsel haben nicht zum ersten Mal zu Problemen oder gar dem Ende einer Band geführt. Unzählige Mal sind vielversprechende Bands im Strudel der einschlägigen Probleme untergegangen, die es im Laufe der Jahre zu bewältigen gilt. Doch ebenso kann auch das Gegenteil der Fall sein. Und wer konnte damit rechnen, dass Crystal Palace nach dem Ausscheiden von Ex-Drummer Frank Brennekam mit Tom Ronney im Handumdrehen den perfekten Ersatz finden würde, der dann obendrein auch der Katalysator sein würde, welcher die musikalische Evolution befeuern und auch bei der Verarbeitung der schwierigen Trennung mit seinem Vorgänger als Regulativ hilfreich sein würde? Manche Dinge lassen sich nun mal nicht planen, weswegen es rückblickend wohl eine glückliche Fügung des Schicksals ist, zu diesem Besetzungswechsel gezwungen gewesen zu sein.
    War der Sound von Crystal Palace noch auf dem Vorgänger The System of Events hart und direkt, holen die Berliner mittlerweile deutlich weiter aus, begeben sich mutig in weite Sphären und schaffen es auf diese Weise, die Veränderungen zu einer Emanzipation vom Status quo zu nutzen – die Flucht nach vorne, wenn man so will. Dawn of Eternity bringt noch immer eine unheimliche Wucht mit, doch indem man den Grad der Brutalität zurückgefahren und sich so mehr Raum für die Umsetzung der bildhaften Konzeption des Songwriting geschaffen hat, kann man den Dampfhammer nun mit deutlich mehr Präzision ansetzen.
    Nach über 20 Jahren des Bestehens besteht immer die große Gefahr, in einen eintönigen Trott zu verfallen, der Neuauflagen des Vergangenen den täuschenden Glanz des Kreativen und Neuen geben kann. Umso bemerkenswerter ist ein Quantensprung, wie ihn die Berliner auf Dawn of Eternity vollbringen. Man hat hier die einschneidenden Veränderungen kurzerhand genutzt, zur Tugend gemacht und so auch die Anlage der Band auf die nächste Stufe gehievt.
    Wo man sich zuvor noch von Album zu Album in verschiedene Richtungen bewegte, viel versuchte und forsch voran schritt, ist die Ausrichtung nun eindeutig, was umso klarer wird, wenn man die eleganten Strukturen des Songwriting betrachtet. Auf Dawn of Eternity treffen stringente Ideen mit explosiver Sprengkraft auf die quergedachten Experimente, welche etwa das Vorgängeralbum zu einem der europäischen Kritik-Darlings des Progrock Jahres 2013 gemacht hat.
    Crystal Palace schüttelt in diesen elf Stücken die letzten Fesseln ab und entfaltet sich endlich komplett. Das Verbindungsstück, und damit irgendwie das Tor zur Ewigkeit, stellt der Song Any Colour You Need dar, der dem Ex-Drummer gewidmet ist und sich mit der schwierigen Trennung doch auch mit dem nach wie vor hervorragenden Verhältnis befasst, das man pflegt. Und so ist Dawn of Eternity irgendwie genau das: ein in elf Songs verpacktes Sinnbild für den existenziellen Übergang aus Chaos, Turbulenz und dem drohenden Zerfall, hinein in einen Zustand von Dauerhaftigkeit und Stabilität bei gleichzeitigem Bewahren des kontinuierlichen Fortschritts.
    Die Stammbesetzung aus Nils Conrad (Gitarre), Frank Köhler (Keyboards), Tom Ronney (Schlagzeug) und Jenz Uwe Strutz (Gesang, Bass) hat gemeinsam den Sprung ins Ungewisse gewagt, tiefe Täler durchschritten und ist am Ende doch als Sieger im Duell mit den eigenen Dämonen hervorgegangen.
    Der erste Schritt ist getan. Nichts hält die Berliner jetzt noch auf – nächster Halt: Unendlichkeit.

    Veröffentlicht10. Juni 2016
    MediaCDGAOM045
    LabelGentle Art Of Music
    VertriebSoulfood Music
    Yenz (vocals, bass)
    Frank Köhler (keyboards)
    Tom Ronney (drums)
    Nils Conrad (guitars)
    01. Dawn (2:35)
    02. Confess Your Crime (8:26)
    03. Eternal Step (6:31)
    04. Any Colour You Need (8:19)
    05. Daylight After The Rain (3:32)
    06. Fields Of Consciousness (6:35)
    07. Hearts On Sale (5:45)
    08. Eternity (2:00)
    09. All Of This (5:43)
    10. Sky Without Stars (5:21)
    11. The Day That doesn’t End (4.15)
  2. The System Of Events

    Crystal Palace | The System Of Events

    Crystal Palace The System Of Events “The System of Events“ heißt das neue Album der deutschen Artrock-Größe Crystal Palace. Darauf fragen sie: „Gibt es eine Formel, die unser Leben bestimmt?“ Nun ja, man wird sehen… Eine anderes Rätsel haben die vier Berliner hingegen ganz sicher geknackt: Wie muss ein Artrock-Album heute klingen? Antwort: so wie “The System of Events“! Unter Mithilfe eines Dream Teams ist ein wahres Juwel entstanden.

    Nach diversen Veröffentlichungen, Kritiker-Lobeshymnen aus der ganzen Welt und der Produktion einer Fan-Hymne für Deutschlands führenden Eishockey-Club, haben sich Crystal Palace nun mit dem Label Gentle Art of Music zusammengetan und legen am 04. Oktober ein Werk vor, das die Band endgültig als treibende Kraft der deutschen Artrock-Szene etabliert. “The System of Events“ zeichnet sich durch mutiges Songwriting, intelligente Arrangements und einen fesselnden Leitfaden aus, der den Hörer vom ersten bis zum letzten Song mit auf eine spannende Reise nimmt:
Gibt es eine Formel, die unser Leben bestimmt, oder haben wir doch alles selbst in der Hand?
    Der Titelsong etwa erzählt davon, wie sich Menschen nach Schicksalsschlägen völlig neuen Lebenssituationen stellen müssen. Sei es die Bewältigung der menschenverachtenden Brutalität des Breivik-Attentats, die Wut nach der Atom-Katastrophe von Fukushima oder auch das Verarbeiten der ganz eigenen Trauer nach dem plötzlichen Tod eines nahen Verwandten. Crystal Palace verschmelzen diese Emotionen in ihren Kompositionen raffiniert mit musikalischer Virtuosität und schaffen dadurch Stücke, die auch Musikliebhaber jenseits der Genregrenzen berühren.
    Auch auf “The System of Events“ erinnern Crystal Palace an ihre Vorbilder wie Marillion, Dream Theater oder Genesis – und gehen doch ihren ganz eigenen Weg. Zuallererst möchten die Vier mit ihrer Musik nämlich Menschen erreichen. Dass es sich bei “The System of Events“ um ein Werk handelt, das aus Leidenschaft entstanden ist, kann man von der ersten Sekunde an nicht nur hören, sondern man kann es sogar spüren. Der Artrock der Berliner wird immer wieder zu Gänsehaut-Rock.
    Um die Mammut-Aufgabe dieses ambitionierten Projekts umsetzen zu können, haben Crystal Palace eine Mannschaft um sich geschart, die jedem Fan den Puls in schwindelerregende Höhen treibt: für den Sound zeichnet sich RPWL-Mann Yogi Lang verantwortlich, der sich in die Dimensionen der Musik hineingelebt und es geschafft hat, die subtile Komplexität hörbar zu machen, welche den unverwechselbaren Charakter der Songs auf “The System of Events” ausmacht. Ferner hat man sich mit Weltstar Colin Edwin von Porcupine Tree ein echtes Schwergewicht der Szene als Gastmusiker ins Boot geholt. Komplettiert wird das Artrock-Dream-Team von RPWL-Gitarrist Kalle Wallner, der beim Titelsong ebenfalls seinen Teil zur Veredelung dieses Meisterwerks beigetragen hat.
    Bleibt noch eine Frage: bestimmt also eine Formel unser aller Leben, oder nicht? Gibt es ein “System of Events”? Nun ja, falls das so ist, zeigt “The System of Events“: die Formel meint es offensichtlich gut mit Artrock-Fans auf der ganzen Welt.

    Veröffentlicht04. Oktober 2013
    MediaCDGAOM019
    LabelGentle Art Of Music
    VertriebSoulfood Music
    Yenz (vocals, bass)
    Frank Köhler (keyboards)
    Frank Brennekam (drums)
    Nils Conrad (guitars)
    01. Chasing Better Days
    02. As Heaven Dies
    03. Beautiful Nighmare
    04. Green Way
    05. Sleepless
    06. Stunned By The Silence
    07. Breathe
    08. The System Of Events