Subsignal

Subsignal | La MuertaIt took Subsignal a good two years, but now they are finally back and ready to release their new album “La Muerta.” On it, as to be expected with the creative duo Markus Steffen and Arno Menses, the German band sends the listener on a proper voyage of discovery that is as complex as it is eventful.
As a counter-pole against its predecessors, for “La Muerta” the band took a significantly more instinctive approach and put the emphasis on transparence in material and production. That is – with good cause – testament to Subsignal’s great confidence in its songwriting. “La Muerta” proves: risk big and you can win big!
Production duties were put into the hands of RPWL’s Yogi Lang and Kalle Wallner. The duo has demonstrated great intuition and provided the songs with enough air to breathe and unfold – without restraining the fascinating density that adds another dimension to that multilayered voyage of discovery that is “La Muerta.”

Artist-Website: www.subsignalband.com

SmartURL: www.smarturl.it/Subsignal_LaMuerta

Markus Steffen (guitars)
Arno Menses (vocals)
Ralf Schwager (bass)
Markus Maichel (keyboards)
Dirk Brand (drums)

Guest musicians:
Marjana Semkina, vocals (Track 11)
Markus Jehle, piano (Track 11)
Kalle Wallner, additional guitars
Yogi Lang, additional keyboards

08Mar 2018

La Muerta Tour 2019:
28.03.2019 | D-Rüsselsheim, Das Rind
29.03.2019 | NL-Alphen Aan Den Rijn, Parkvilla
31.03.2019 | D-Bremen, Meisenfrei
06.09.2019 | USA-Atlanta, ProgPower USA

Diskographie

  1. La Muerta

    Subsignal | La Muerta

    Subsignal | La Muerta Voyage of discovery

    It took Subsignal a good two years, but now they are finally back and ready to release their new album “La Muerta.” On it, as to be expected with the former Sieges Even duo Markus Steffen and Arno Menses, the German band sends the listener on a proper voyage of discovery that is as complex as it is eventful. Subsignal have consciously designed the path to “La Muerta” a tad more accessible than was the case with the predecessor…

    It is the fundamental rule in Subsignal: the band always resets the focus and overhauls the pressure points from album to album. That is why in the run-up to “La Muerta” the German outfit did not only sign a new record deal with Gentle Art of Music, but the five-piece also made a decision in favor of a modified approach in terms of the project’s artistic priorities. While on earlier releases the band still lit up the literal torch to lead the audience’s way through the tricky pathways of the delicately tangled progressive rock-undergrowth, this time, despite several hints of assistance here and there, Subsignal indeed put their trust in the power of the songwriting as well as the intuition of the listener. The band’s signature energy is no less essential than ever before, but its unique presence has transformed and taken on a significantly more subtle role. The same goes for the technical sophistication of the musical implementation: it is still a driving force but it no longer lunges right into the listener’s face. Much more it clandestinely sneaks up from the – only seemingly! – diffuse atmosphere to ultimately spread with all the force that fans and critics alike have praised.

    As a counter-pole against its enormously intense predecessor, “The Beacons of Somewhere Sometime”, the creation of “La Muerta” was influenced by a significantly more instinctive approach. The band put the emphasis on transparence in material and production – which inevitably demands the subconscious collaboration of those on the receiving end – in this case: the listener. It is a bold approach: one that is not only testament to Subsignal’s great confidence in its songwriting but also of the appreciation that the band has for its listeners. “La Muerta” proves: risk big and you can win big!

    In his lyrics Markus Steffen tackles very personal issues. And in the process he skillfully masters the tightrope act of offering words of great honesty – without playing it safe and drifting into mere ‘poetry of the sensitivities.’ It goes for the album’s lyrics as well as the music: Subsignal’s new record is nothing less than a comprehensive piece of art that does not only radiate great emotionality but also maintains a degree of necessary distance with regards to its own truth. “La Muerta” inevitably touches the listener, but it never forces its audience into a preconceived pattern of thought or perception. On this record, the band lead a clear lyrical way – but it is up to the listener to find, discover and experience the essence of “La Muerta” by means of one’s own eyes and ears.
    The current lineup, consisting of Markus Steffen (guitar), Arno Menses (vocals), Ralf Schwager (bass), Markus Maichel (keyboards) and Dirk Brand (drums), has remained unchanged for quite some time and thus become a precisely harmonized team of perfection. It is obvious: the micro-adjustments of musical and mechanical aspects no longer required tending to. Much more “La Muerta” showcases a well-oiled fellowship that passionately puts every last bit of energy into the macro-process of painting the big picture. A new album might always start out as a journey into the unknown, but there is not a shadow of a doubt: right from the beginning the minds behind Subsignal had a very clear idea of where “La Muerta” would take them and how they would get there.

    Production duties were put into the hands of RPWL’s Yogi Lang and Kalle Wallner. The duo has demonstrated great intuition and provided the songs with enough air to breathe and unfold – without restraining the fascinating density that adds another dimension to that multilayered voyage of discovery that is “La Muerta.”
    The paths have been marked, the supplies are packed. This is where the adventure starts – enjoy the ride!

    Release 25.05.2018
    Media CD (Digipak mit Hochprägung) GAOM058
      LP 2Vinyl Gatefold GAOM058LP
    Label Gentle Art Of Music
    Distribution Soulfood Music
    Markus Steffen (Gitarre)
    Arno Menses (Gesang)
    Ralf Schwager (Bass)
    Markus Maichel (Keyboards)
    Dirk Brand (Schlagzeug)

    Guest musicians:
    Marjana Semkina, vocals (Track 11)
    Markus Jehle, piano (Track 11)
    Kalle Wallner, additional guitars
    Yogi Lang, additional keyboards

    01. 271 Days
    02. La Muerta
    03. The Bells Of Lyonesse
    04. Every Able Hand
    05. Teardrops Will Dry In Source Of Origin
    06. The Approaches
    07. Even Though The Stars Don’t Shine
    08. The Passage
    09. When All The Trains Are Sleeping
    10. As Birds On Pinions Free
    11. Some Kind Of Drowning

Subsignal

Subsignal | La MuertaGute zwei Jahre haben sich Subsignal genommen, um mit „La Muerta“ nun endlich ihr neues Album vorzulegen. Wie bei der Band um das Kreativ-Duo Markus Steffen und Arno Menses nicht anders zu erwarten, schicken sie den Hörer auf eine ebenso komplexe wie ereignisreiche Entdeckungsreise.

Im Vergleich zu den Vorgänger-Alben ging man diesmal deutlich instinktiver zur Sache und setzte auf mehr Transparenz in Material und Produktion. Was – vollkommen zurecht – bei Subsignal großes Selbstvertrauen in das eigene Songwriting erkennen lässt. „La Muerta“ zeigt: wer viel riskiert, kann im großen Stil gewinnen!

Für die Produktion verpflichtete man die RPWL-Recken Yogi Lang und Kalle Wallner. Das Duo beweist grandioses Gespür und gibt den Songs die nötige Luft zum Atmen, ohne dabei aber die Dichte zu beschneiden, welche der vielschichtigen Entdeckungsreise namens „La Muerta“ eine weitere Dimension verleiht.

Künstler-Website: www.subsignalband.com

SmartURL: www.smarturl.it/Subsignal_LaMuerta

Markus Steffen (Gitarre)
Arno Menses (Gesang)
Ralf Schwager (Bass)
Markus Maichel (Keyboards)
Dirk Brand (Schlagzeug)

Gastmusiker:
Marjana Semkina, Gesang (Track 11)
Markus Jehle, Piano (Track 11)
Kalle Wallner, Gitarre
Yogi Lang, Keyboards

08Mrz 2018

La Muerta Tour 2019:
28.03.2019 | D-Rüsselsheim, Das Rind
29.03.2019 | NL-Alphen Aan Den Rijn, Parkvilla
31.03.2019 | D-Bremen, Meisenfrei
06.09.2019 | USA-Atlanta, ProgPower USA

Diskographie

  1. La Muerta

    Subsignal | La Muerta

    Subsignal | La Muerta Entdeckungsreise

    Gute zwei Jahre haben sich Subsignal genommen, um mit „La Muerta“ nun endlich ihren neuen Longplayer vorzulegen. Wie bei den Recken um das Ex-Sieges Even-Duo Markus Steffen und Arno Menses nicht anders zu erwarten, schicken sie den Hörer auf eine ebenso komplexe wie ereignisreiche Entdeckungsreise. Den Pfad zu „La Muerta“ haben Subsignal diesmal jedoch bewusst einen Tick zugänglicher gestaltet als dies noch auf dem Vorgänger der Fall war…

    Es ist das grundlegende Gesetz bei Subsignal, von Album zu Album bewusst neue Reiz- und Schwerpunkte zu setzen. So unterschrieb man im Vorfeld von „La Muerta“ nicht nur einen neuen Plattenvertrag, sondern entschied sich auch für eine veränderte Herangehensweise bei der künstlerischen Gewichtung. Wo man auf früheren Alben noch die sprichwörtliche Fackel schwang, um den Konsumenten durch das Dickicht des technisch vertrackten Progressive-Unterholzes zu lotsen, vertrauen Subsignal diesmal aktiv auf die Kraft des Songwritings sowie die Intuition des Publikums, bieten aber doch hier und da Hilfestellungen. So nimmt die typische Subsignal-Energie auf „La Muerta“ eine zwar mitnichten weniger prominente, dabei aber doch deutlich subtilere Rolle ein. Gleiches gilt für die technische Finesse im Musikalischen: noch immer ist sie treibendes Element, doch springt sie dem Hörer nicht mehr ins Gesicht, sondern pirscht sich vielmehr aus der – nur scheinbar! – diffusen Atmosphäre an, um dann ihre gewohnte Wirkung zu erzielen.

    Als Gegenpol zum sehr intensiven Vorgänger „The Beacons of Somewhere Sometime“ ging man diesmal deutlich instinktiver zur Sache und setzte auf mehr Transparenz in Material und Produktion, was unweigerlich die unbewusste Mithilfe des Zuhörers fordert. Ein mutiger Ansatz, der bei Subsignal nicht nur großes Selbstvertrauen in das eigene Songwriting, sondern auch ein nicht geringes Maß an Wertschätzung für die Zuhörerschaft erkennen lässt. „La Muerta“ zeigt: wer viel riskiert, kann im großen Stil gewinnen!

    Inhaltlich befasst sich Markus Steffen mit der Verarbeitung persönlicher Anliegen und vollbringt dabei meisterhaft den Balanceakt zwischen größter Ehrlichkeit und gleichzeitiger Vermeidung eines Abdriftens in bloße Befindlichkeitslyrik. Für Text wie Musik gilt: die Band hat es auf diesem Album gesamtkünstlerisch geschafft, trotz großer Emotionalität genug Distanz zur Wahrheit zu schaffen, sodass deren Strahlkraft den Zuhörer zwar berührt, ihm jedoch kein vorgefertigtes Denkkorsett anlegt. Subsignal weisen auf „La Muerta“ einen lyrischen Weg – finden, erkunden und erleben darf diesen das Publikum jedoch durch die eigenen Augen und Ohren.

    Das mittlerweile seit geraumer Zeit beständige Lineup aus Markus Steffen (Gitarre), Arno Menses (Gesang), Ralf Schwager (Bass), Markus Maichel (Keyboards) und Dirk Brand (Schlagzeug) ist mittlerweile ein perfekt abgestimmtes Team. Und das kann man hören: um die musikalisch-mechanische Mikrojustierung hat sich hier offensichtlich niemand mehr zu kümmern brauchen. Vielmehr kann man auf „La Muerta“ eine verschworene Mannschaft erleben, die ihre ganze Energie in den Makroprozess des großen Ganzen steckt. Ein neues Album mag immer als Trip ins Unbekannte beginnen, doch es besteht kein Zweifel: Subsignal hatten eine sehr klare Vorstellung, wohin es mit „La Muerta“ gehen sollte und wie man dorthin gelangt.

    Für die Produktion verpflichtete man die RPWL-Recken Yogi Lang und Kalle Wallner. Das Duo beweist grandioses Gespür und gibt den Songs die nötige Luft zum Atmen, ohne dabei aber die Dichte zu beschneiden, welche der vielschichtigen Entdeckungsreise namens „La Muerta“ eine weitere Dimension verleiht.

    Die Pfade sind gekennzeichnet, der Proviant ist gepackt. Auf ins Abenteuer! Gute Reise!

    Veröffentlicht 25.05.2018
    Media CD (Digipak mit Hochprägung) GAOM058
      LP 2Vinyl Gatefold GAOM058LP
    Label Gentle Art Of Music
    Vertrieb Soulfood Music
    Markus Steffen (Gitarre)
    Arno Menses (Gesang)
    Ralf Schwager (Bass)
    Markus Maichel (Keyboards)
    Dirk Brand (Schlagzeug)

    Gastmusiker:
    Marjana Semkina, Gesang (Track 11)
    Markus Jehle, Piano (Track 11)
    Kalle Wallner, Gitarre
    Yogi Lang, Keyboards

    01. 271 Days
    02. La Muerta
    03. The Bells Of Lyonesse
    04. Every Able Hand
    05. Teardrops Will Dry In Source Of Origin
    06. The Approaches
    07. Even Though The Stars Don’t Shine
    08. The Passage
    09. When All The Trains Are Sleeping
    10. As Birds On Pinions Free
    11. Some Kind Of Drowning