Dante

It is supposed to be sophisticated music for sophisticated listeners. But it should not only be challenging, it also needs to thrilling. And of course it is imperative for the audience to be entertained by it! What may initially seem like a wish list, really describes Dante’s new record When We Were Beautiful: how does one compose something special of mere sounds and words? How can regular metals be turned into pure gold? The prog-alchemists have found the answer to that question: the new album is not only metal. It is precious metal.
Alexander Göhs (vocals), Markus Maichel (keyboards), Christian Eichlinger (drums) and guitarist Julian Kellner have accepted the challenge and tried to create something that cannot be achieved by mere talent and hard work alone. The result is an almost daringly powerful, emotional and artistic triumphant seven song tour-de-force, the radiant power of which can only be created by extraordinary personalities with a true vision. Just as stated earlier: Dante really are the alchemists of prog.

Artist-Website: www.danteband.de

Alexander Göhs (vocals)
Markus Maichel (keyboards)
Julian Kellner (guitar)
Christian Eichlinger (drums)
14Jan 2016

14 October 2017 | D-Plettenberg, Dragonslayer Festival
03 November 2017| München, Garage Deluxe
25 November 2017 | Augsburg, Kantine

Diskographie

  1. Where Life Was Beautiful (Live in Katowice)

    Dante | Where Life Was Beautiful (Live in Katowice)

    The monument

    Recording the very first concert in Poland? And then follow that up by releasing the result as the very first DVD of the band? Who comes up with ideas like that? Well, it seems like enormously clever people come up with ideas like that, because at second glance the decision makes perfect sense: Poland has already been excellent terrain for progressive music for quite a while. Consequently it does not come as a surprise at all to find that Bavaria-based Dante have provoked nothing but sheer enthusiasm amongst the Polish! But only giving people a glance at the works of the band does not do for Dante… not enough… why not record the Augsburg show of the tour, too? Done!
    The set list of Katowice did not only include songs of the latest record “When We Were Beautiful” but also comprised classics from the group’s ten-year history like “Vanessa” and “November Red.” The Augsburg show fills the contextual gaps that the temporal confines of a concert ripped in the first recording: material that could not be fit in the concert at Katowice was simply played in Augsburg. That is why the tragic death of founding-member Markus Berger in the year 2013 is not only a constant and spiritually important factor within the concept of Dante. Through the inclusion of his compositions Berger is really always at the heart of the show. That is the constellation that leads the way to emotionally charged performances like the ones that managed to entice the audiences of Katowice and Augsburg into the stream of energy, emotion, precision and artistic intelligent that can be experienced firsthand on “Where Life Was Beautiful.”
    The DVD at hand displays a collective of musicians at the height of its powers. The seemingly idiosyncratic aspects – since Berger’s death the band has performed concerts without a bass player – are in this case not impediments but manifest additional impulses that drive the experience that is “Dante” further ahead. Actually the special gems of the approach are what pushes the performances into a different dimension – in a beautifully organic way.
    “Where Life Was Beautiful” shows two concerts of a band that is rapidly progressing into the future – without neglecting its roots. That mixture can be seen in the big picture of the song selection of the two recorded shows. In that way the basic concept “DVD” as a fascinating momentary snapshot is turned into a lasting monument of the accumulated works of a group of artists who are only just beginning to realize the true extent of their electrifying energy. Releasing two concerts at a time turns out to be a genius move: one can hardly experience a band in a more three-dimensional way.

    Veröffentlicht28 April 2017
    Media2CD&DVDGAOM049
    LabelGentle Art Of Music
    DistributionSoulfood Music
    Alexander Göhs (vocals)
    Markus Maichel (keyboards)
    Julian Kellner (guitar)
    Christian Eichlinger (drums)

    DVD & CD1: „Live In Katowice“
    1. Rearrangement O fThe Gods
    2. Beautiful Again
    3. Vanessa
    4. The Lone And Level Sands
    5. Until TheLast Light Breaks In
    6. November Red

    CD2: „When We Were Beautiful – Live“
    1. Rearrangement Of The Gods
    2. Ambitious
    3. Beautiful Again
    4. Until The Last Light Breaks In
    5. Let Me Down
    6. SadToday
    7. Finally

  2. When We Were Beautiful

    Dante | When We Were Beautiful

    Dante | When We Were Beautiful The alchemists of Prog

    It is supposed to be sophisticated music for sophisticated listeners. But it should not only be challenging, it also needs to thrilling. And of course it is imperative for the audience to be entertained by it! What may initially seem like a wish list, really describes Dante’s new record When We Were Beautiful: how does one compose something special of mere sounds and words? How can regular metal be turned into pure gold? The prog-alchemists have found the answer to that question: the new album is not only metal. It is precious metal.

    As mentioned, it is not exactly an uncommon wish, wanting to satisfy not only the desires of the good feeling but also those of the brain, while making it possible for the listener to bring their dancing shoes, too. Accomplishing just that is, though. That is what makes it all the more impressive that with When We Were Beautiful the quartet presents an album that does not only live up to but exceed those high expectations and additionally delivers a degree of depth that is not exclusively founded in the musical virtuosity of the artists or their elaborate songwriting. Really, the record’s core topic of transience has its foundations in a very real background fact that gives the songs an almost palpable emotionality.

    In fact, after severe illness, by only a few days founding member Markus Berger did not have the good fortune of getting to experience the release of the band’s last record November Red. That is how death did not only inevitably become a topic of When We Were Beautiful. Ultimately it also ended up being the driving force of the creative process that is expressed in songs like Finally, in which the band bids farewell to their friend in a harrowingly beautiful way. These are songs of golden splendor and metal heaviness.

    But that is only one part of the story because Augsburg’s Dante do by no means beat around the bush: they want it all. The music needs to be good and melodic, the lyrics have to live up to the highest standards and the sweaty intensity of the band’s euphorically reviewed live shows always has to be a fundamental element of any new Dante album. “We want to go as far as possible in every way imaginable,” the band unequivocally states. This radically courageous approach of artistry can be heard in every single delicate note.

    And yet Dante are refreshingly honest in how they perceive themselves: “We know exactly that we fit the musical blueprint of the genre,” the Bavarians say about their music. That is a view that can be called an understatement – at the very least. Because even though bands like Savatage or Dream Theater certainly are influences and the tradition of greats like Deep Purple, Machine Head and Metallica have clearly made their way into the music, the four-piece from Augsburg has managed to use well-established elements and turn them into something fresh and almost magical that transcends the ordinary: just as alchemists would have done, Dante turn prog metal into precious metal. This album offers tons of artistic enthusiasm, loads of surprises, intellectual challenges and an almost endless potential for enjoyment.

    Alexander Göhs (vocals), Markus Maichel (keyboards), Christian Eichlinger (drums) and guitarist Julian Kellner have accepted the challenge and tried to create something that cannot be achieved by mere talent and hard work alone. The result is an almost daringly powerful, emotional and artistic triumphant seven song tour-de-force, the radiant power of which can only be created by extraordinary personalities with a true vision. Just as stated earlier: Dante really are the alchemists of prog.

    There is only one thing that When We Were Beautiful does not deliver: actual gold. But this silver disc compensates for that beyond the wildest expectations.

    Release18.03.2016
    MediaCDGAOM044
    LabelGentle Art Of Music
    DistributionSoulfood Music
    Alexander Göhs (vocals)
    Markus Maichel (keyboards)
    Julian Kellner (guitar)
    Christian Eichlinger (drums)
    01. Rearrangement Of The Gods (10:46)
    02. Ambitious (9:12)
    03. Beautiful Again (6:42)
    04. Until The Last Light Breaks In (10:54)
    05. Let Me Down (8:22)
    06. Sad Today (3:36)
    07. Finally (14:13)

Dante

Anspruchsvolle Musik für anspruchsvolle Hörer soll es sein. Aber sie soll nicht nur fordern, sondern auch mitreißen. Und unterhaltend soll das dann auch noch sein! Was wie ein Wunschzettel klingt, beschreibt Dantes neues Werk When We Were Beautiful: wie macht man aus Klängen und Worten etwas ganz Besonderes? Wie entsteht aus gewöhnlichem Metall Gold? Die Prog-Alchemisten haben die Lösung gefunden: das neue Album ist nicht nur Metal. Es ist Edel-Metal.
Alexander Göhs (Gesang), Markus Maichel (Keyboards), Christian Eichlinger (Schlagzeug) und Gitarrist Julian Kellner haben die Herausforderung angenommen, etwas entstehen zu lassen, was mit Talent und harter Arbeit alleine nicht zu vollbringen ist. Das Ergebnis ist ein wuchtiger, emotionaler und künstlerisch nahezu waghalsiger Triumphzug von sieben Songs geworden, dessen funkelnde Strahlkraft nur von außergewöhnlichen Persönlichkeiten mit einer wahren Vision hergestellt werden konnte. Die Alchemisten des Prog eben.

Künstler-Website: www.danteband.de

Alexander Göhs (vocals)
Markus Maichel (keyboards)
Julian Kellner (guitar)
Christian Eichlinger (drums)
14Jan 2016

25 Nov 2017 | D-Augsburg, Kantine
1 Mar 2018 | D-Mannheim, 7er Club (w/ Blind Ego)

Diskographie

  1. Where Life Was Beautiful (Live in Katowice)

    Dante | Where Life Was Beautiful (Live in Katowice)

    Das Monument

    Gleich das erste Konzert in Polen mitschneiden? Und das Ergebnis dann auch noch sofort als erste DVD der Band veröffentlichen? Wer kommt denn auf so eine Idee? Nun, offenbar kommen sehr kluge Menschen auf solche Ideen, denn auf den zweiten Blick macht die Entscheidung absolut Sinn: Polen ist für progressive Musik schon seit geraumer Zeit ein exzellentes Pflaster und so war das, was die Bayern Dante bei den Polen hervorgerufen haben irgendwie vorherzusehen: pure Begeisterung! Doch Dante reicht es nicht, nur einen Einblick in das Schaffen der Band zu geben… warum also nicht gleich das Augsburg-Konzert auch noch veröffentlichen? Aber klar!

    Die Setliste von Kattowitz umfasste neben Songs des aktuellen Langspielers „When We Were Beautiful“ auch Klassiker wie „Vanessa“ oder „November Red“ aus der mittlerweile zehnjährigen Bandgeschichte. Die Show in Augsburg füllt inhaltlich jene Lücken, die ein Konzert mit seinen zeitlichen Rahmenbedingungen nun mal mit sich bringt – Material, das in Kattowitz keinen Platz mehr fand, wurde in Augsburg gespielt. So ist der 2013 tragisch verstorbene Gründungsmitglied Markus Berger nicht nur spirituell ein überaus wichtiger Faktor im Konstrukt Dante, sondern durch seine Kompositionen auch im Herzen des Konzerts präsent. Dies führt zu höchst leidenschaftlichen Performances wie jenen, die das Publikum in Kattowitz und Augsburg ab der ersten Sekunde mit in den Strudel aus Energie, Emotion, Präzision und künstlerischer Intelligenz ziehen, der auf „Where Life Was Beautiful“ zu erleben ist.

    „Where Life Was Beautiful“ stellt eine Band auf dem vorläufigen Höhepunkt ihrer Schaffenskraft dar. Die scheinbaren Eigenarten – man spielt live seit dem Tod von Berger ohne Bass – sind hier keineswegs Hindernis, sondern vielmehr ein zusätzlicher Impuls, der das Erlebnis Dante vorantreibt und organisch in eine neue Dimension vordringen lässt.

    Die vorliegenden Mitschnitte zeigen eine Band, die sich auf heißen Schienen gen Zukunft bewegt und doch ihre Wurzeln nie vernachlässigt. Diese Mischung zeigt sich im Gesamtbild der Songauswahl der beiden Konzerte. Dies macht aus dem Konzept „DVD“ als faszinierende Momentaufnahme ein dauerhaftes Monument des bisherigen Werks einer Gruppe von Künstlern, die gerade erst anfangen, das Potential ihrer knisternden Energie voll auszuschöpfen. Gleich zwei Konzerte zu veröffentlichen ist dabei ein brillanter Schachzug: dreidimensionaler kann man eine Band kaum erleben.

    Veröffentlicht28.04.2017
    Media2CD&DVDGAOM049
    LabelGentle Art Of Music
    VertriebSoulfood Music
    Alexander Göhs (vocals)
    Markus Maichel (keyboards)
    Julian Kellner (guitar)
    Christian Eichlinger (drums)

    DVD & CD1: „Live In Katowice“
    1. Rearrangement O fThe Gods
    2. Beautiful Again
    3. Vanessa
    4. The Lone And Level Sands
    5. Until TheLast Light Breaks In
    6. November Red

    CD2: „When We Were Beautiful – Live“
    1. Rearrangement Of The Gods
    2. Ambitious
    3. Beautiful Again
    4. Until The Last Light Breaks In
    5. Let Me Down
    6. SadToday
    7. Finally

  2. When We Were Beautiful

    Dante | When We Were Beautiful

    Dante | When We Were Beautiful Die Alchemisten des Prog

    Anspruchsvolle Musik für anspruchsvolle Hörer soll es sein. Aber sie soll nicht nur fordern, sondern auch mitreißen. Und unterhaltend soll das dann auch noch sein! Was wie ein Wunschzettel klingt, beschreibt Dante neues Werk When We Were Beautiful: wie macht man aus Klängen und Worten etwas ganz Besonderes? Wie entsteht aus gewöhnlichem Metall Gold? Die Prog-Alchemisten haben die Lösung gefunden: das neue Album ist nicht nur Metal. Es ist Edel-Metal.

    Nun ist es wie bereits erwähnt nicht eben ein seltener Wunsch, mit der Kunst gleichermaßen das Bauchgefühl, das Gehirn und auch das Tanzbein zufriedenstellen zu wollen – es zu schaffen hingegen schon. Umso beeindruckender ist es, dass Dante mit When We Were Beautiful ein Album vorlegen, das diesem hohen Anspruch mehr als gerecht wird und eine Tiefe mitbringt, die nicht nur mit der musikalischen Virtuosität der Künstler oder dem ausgefeilten Songwriting zu tun hat, sondern in seinem Kernthema, der Vergänglichkeit, auch einen sehr realen Hintergrund hat, welcher den Songs eine schier greifbare Emotionalität verleiht.

    So war es Gründungsmitglied Markus Berger nach schwerer Krankheit um wenige Tage nicht mehr vergönnt, die Veröffentlichung des Vorgängeralbums November Red zu erleben. Der Tod wurde auf When We Were Beautiful also unweigerlich zum Thema und letztendlich auch zum jenem Antrieb, der seinen Ausdruck etwa im Stück Finally findet, in dem die Band musikalisch Abschied nimmt. Stücke mit goldenem Glanz und metallischer Härte.

    Doch damit nicht genug, denn die Augsburger von Dante reden gar nicht lange um den heißen Brei herum: sie wollen alles. Die Musik muss gut und melodisch sein, die Texte haben höchsten Standards zu entsprechen und die schweißtreibende Intensität der von der Kritik begeistert besprochenen Livekonzerte muss unweigerlich Element eines neuen Dante-Werks sein. „Wir wollen in jeder Hinsicht so weit gehen, wie es geht“, stellt die Band unmissverständlich klar. Dieser radikal mutige Ansatz ist When We Were Beautiful auch in handwerklicher Hinsicht in jeder filigranen Note anzuhören.

    Dabei sind Dante erfrischend ehrlich in ihrer Wahrnehmung: „Wir wissen ganz genau, dass wir in eine musikalische Schublade passen“, sagen die Bayern über ihre Musik. Eine Ansicht, die durchaus als Understatement gesehen werden darf, denn obwohl Bands wie Savatage oder Dream Theater definitiv Einflüsse sind und auch Größen wie Deep Purple, Machine Head oder Metallica eindeutig Pate gestanden haben, ist es den Augsburgern gelungen, Bewährtes zu nutzen und daraus etwas Frisches und fast Magisches zu mache, das dem Gewöhnlichen entrückt ist – im Sinne der Alchemisten wird hier aus Prog Metal schnell Edel-Metal. Dieses neue Album bietet tonnenweise Spielfreude, jede Menge Überraschungen, intellektuelle Herausforderungen und schier grenzenlosen Genuss.

    Alexander Göhs (Gesang), Markus Maichel (Keyboards), Christian Eichlinger (Schlagzeug) und Gitarrist Julian Kellner haben die Herausforderung angenommen, etwas entstehen zu lassen, was mit Talent und harter Arbeit alleine nicht zu vollbringen ist. Das Ergebnis ist ein wuchtiger, emotionaler und künstlerisch nahezu waghalsiger Triumphzug von sieben Songs geworden, dessen funkelnde Strahlkraft nur von außergewöhnlichen Persönlichkeiten mit einer wahren Vision hergestellt werden konnte. Die Alchemisten des Prog eben.

    Nur eins kann dieses Album nicht bieten: tatsächliches Gold. Doch dafür entschädigt dieser Silberling im Übermaß.

    Veröffentlicht18.03.2016
    MediaCDGAOM044
    LabelGentle Art Of Music
    VertriebSoulfood Music
    Alexander Göhs (vocals)
    Markus Maichel (keyboards)
    Julian Kellner (guitar)
    Christian Eichlinger (drums)
    01. Rearrangement Of The Gods (10:46)
    02. Ambitious (9:12)
    03. Beautiful Again (6:42)
    04. Until The Last Light Breaks In (10:54)
    05. Let Me Down (8:22)
    06. Sad Today (3:36)
    07. Finally (14:13)