Marco Glühmann


Leaving the comfort zone of your own band to embark on new musical paths requires courage. MARCO GLÜHMANN, the singer of one of the most successful German Artrock bands SYLVAN, should not lack this, as he is used to being in the spotlight. It is a testament to his enormous creativity that he used an extended break from his main band to try something new without the necessary compromises, guidelines and restrictions of his fellow musicians. The result is a fantastic album, full of energy and esprit, which moves somewhere between Rock, Artrock and sophisticated Pop Music.

Artist-website: www.marco-gluehmann.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/marco.gluehmann

Marco Glühmann – vocals, keyboards, guitars
feat.
Steve Rothery (Marillion) – guitar on “My eyes are wide open”
Billy Sherwood (YES) – choir on “Hear our voice”
Kalle Wallner (RPWL) – guitars, bass
Johnny Beck (Sylvan) – guitars
Yogi Lang (RPWL) – keyboards
Markus Grützner (RPWL) – bass
Tommy Eberhardt – drums
Coming soon.

Diskography

  1. A Fragile Present

    Marco Glühmann | A Fragile Present

    Leaving the comfort zone of your own band to embark on new musical paths requires courage. MARCO GLÜHMANN, the singer of one of the most successful German Artrock bands SYLVAN, should not lack this, as he is used to being in the spotlight. It is a testament to his enormous creativity that he used an extended break from his main band to try something new without the necessary compromises, guidelines and restrictions of his fellow musicians. The result is a fantastic album, full of energy and esprit, which moves somewhere between Rock, Artrock and sophisticated Pop Music. After his SYLVAN bandmates Volker Söhl and Johnny Beck presented the VIOLENT JASPER project last year, we can now look forward to their frontman’s work “A Fragile Present”!

     

    MARCO GLÜHMANN composed most of the songs in a kind of frenzy within just a few months, allowing himself to drift freely and casually through harmonies, melodies and lyrics. Only two songs have their origins in the old days: “Reach out” and “Black the shade out” come from songwriting sessions around 2010, the latter even including the original intro from the demo back then. “These two songs are a kind of window into my musical past,” says MARCO GLÜHMANN, and continues: “With all the other songs, I let my emotions guide me: the vocal melodies are mostly spontaneous ideas, and the lyrics were largely written during the first demo recording, so everything is very personal.”

    Marco not only wrote the first single in particular, “My eyes are wide open”, in a very short space of time, but most of the lyrics have also remained the same. “The lyric ‘Lay your head on me, oh my little boy’ still gives me goosebumps, because I imagine myself and my son here and feel the love, the shortness of the moment, but also the responsibility of ‘sending’ him into this world,” the artist continues. The fact that this song in particular was refined by none other than MARILLION guitarist STEVE ROTHERY, one of Marco’s musical heroes, is a very special exclamation mark.

    Speaking of musicians, the line-up reads like a “who’s who” of the Artrock/Progressive Rock scene: in addition to the afore mentioned STEVE ROTHERYBILLY SHERWOOD from YES also makes a guest appearance: he contributed the choirs on “Hear Our Voice” in the very best YES style. RPWL guitarist KALLE WALLNER plays most of the guitars on the album and was not only involved as co-producer but also as arranger.  SYLVAN guitarist JOHNNY BECK also contributed many parts and the rhythm section consists of drummer TOMMY EBERHARDT and bassist MARKUS GRÜTZNER (RPWL). All of this was recorded, mixed and produced by RPWL mastermind YOGI LANG at Farm Studios, who also played some keyboards.

    Despite the natural parallels to SYLVAN, the songs on “A Fragile Present” are much more “earthy” and sometimes “rockier”. The arrangements are always reduced to the essentials and the wonderful and highly emotional voice of MARCO GLÜHMANN is always in focus. The ingenious vocal melodies immediately pave the way to the album, which, in addition to all the rock elements, naturally also includes the ballads, where Marco’s voice is particularly brilliant: in addition to the aforementioned “My eyes are wide open”, “Hear Our Voice” and the very intimate “You are not alone” are particularly noteworthy. And of course there are also ‘proggy’ elements, e.g. on “Never say good-bye” or “Look at me”.

    MARCO GLÜHMANN on the album title: “‘A Fragile Present’ reflects the fragility of the ‘gift of life’ or the ‘transient present’, whether in a personal or global context. It’s not a concept album, but the songs are nevertheless connected in terms of content, as this fragility and fear of loss accompanied me in the creative process.”

     

    Release 14. June 2024
    Media CD (Digipak) GAOM077
    Vinyl GAOM077LP
    Label Gentle Art Of Music
    Distribution Soulfood Music
    Marco Glühmann – vocals, keyboards, guitars
    feat.
    Steve Rothery (Marillion) –  guitar on “My eyes are wide open”
    Billy Sherwood (YES) – choir on “Hear our voice”
    Kalle Wallner (RPWL) – guitars, bass
    Johnny Beck (Sylvan) – guitars
    Yogi Lang (RPWL) – keyboards
    Markus Grützner (RPWL) – bass
    Tommy Eberhardt – drums

    Hear Our Voice
    Never Say Goodbye
    Reach Out
    Faceless (CD & Streaming only)
    Look At Me
    At Home
    For A While
    Black The Shade Out
    One Last Hope
    Life Is Much Too Short (CD & Streaming only)
    Running Out Of Time
    My Eyes Are Wide Open

    YouTube

    Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
    Mehr erfahren

    Video laden

Marco Glühmann


Die Komfortzone seiner eigenen Band zu verlassen, um sich auf neue musikalische Pfade zu begeben, erfordert Mut. Daran sollte es MARCO GLÜHMANN als Sänger einer der erfolgreichsten deutschen Artrock-Bands SYLVAN nicht mangeln, da er es ja gewohnt ist, ganz vorne im Rampenlicht zu stehen. Es spricht für seine enorme Kreativität, eine längere Schaffenspause seiner Haupt-Band zu nutzen, um sich ohne die notwendigen Kompromisse, Vorgaben und Beschränkungen seiner Mitstreiter neu auszuprobieren. Herausgekommen ist ein fantastisches Album, das voller Energie und Esprit steckt und irgendwo zwischen Rock, Artrock und anspruchsvoller Popmusik wandelt.

Künstler-Website: www.marco-gluehmann.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/marco.gluehmann

Marco Glühmann – vocals, keyboards, guitars
feat.
Steve Rothery (Marillion) –  guitar on “My eyes are wide open”
Billy Sherwood (YES) – choir on “Hear our voice”
Kalle Wallner (RPWL) – guitars, bass
Johnny Beck (Sylvan) – guitars
Yogi Lang (RPWL) – keyboards
Markus Grützner (RPWL) – bass
Tommy Eberhardt – drums

Support of BLIND EGO:
20 NOV 2024 | Hamburg (GER), Logo
21 NOV 2024 | Zoetermeer (NL), Poppodium Boerderij
22 NOV 2024 | Rüsselsheim (GER), Das Rind
23 NOV 2024 | Freising (GER), Lindenkeller
24 NOV 2024 | Oberhausen (GER), Zentrum Altenberg

Coming soon.

Diskographie

  1. A Fragile Present

    Marco Glühmann | A Fragile Present


    Die Komfortzone seiner eigenen Band zu verlassen, um sich auf neue musikalische Pfade zu begeben, erfordert Mut. Daran sollte es MARCO GLÜHMANN als Sänger einer der erfolgreichsten deutschen Artrock-Bands SYLVAN nicht mangeln, da er es ja gewohnt ist, ganz vorne im Rampenlicht zu stehen. Es spricht für seine enorme Kreativität, eine längere Schaffenspause seiner Haupt-Band zu nutzen, um sich ohne die notwendigen Kompromisse, Vorgaben und Beschränkungen seiner Mitstreiter neu auszuprobieren. Herausgekommen ist ein fantastisches Album, das voller Energie und Esprit steckt und irgendwo zwischen Rock, Artrock und anspruchsvoller Popmusik wandelt. Nachdem seine SYLVAN-Bandkollegen Volker Söhl und Johnny Beck letztes Jahr das Projekt VIOLENT JASPER vorstellten, darf man nun auf das Werk „A Fragile Present“ ihres Frontmanns gespannt sein!

    Quasi in einer Art Rausch hat MARCO GLÜHMANN die meisten Songs innerhalb nur weniger Monate komponiert, konnte sich dabei ganz frei und zwanglos durch Harmonien, Melodien und Text treiben lassen. Nur zwei Songs haben ihren Ursprung in alten Zeiten: „Reach out“ und „Black the shade out“ stammen aus Songwriting-Sessions um das Jahr 2010, letzterer sogar noch inklusive des Original-Intros des damaligen Demos. „Diese beiden Songs sind quasi ein Fenster in meine musikalische Vergangenheit.“ erzählt MARCO GLÜHMANN, und weiter: „Bei allen anderen Songs habe ich mich von meinen Emotionen leiten lassen: die Gesangsmelodien sind zumeist spontane Ideen, die Textbasis ist auch zu großen Teilen direkt beim ersten Demo-Recording entstanden, somit ist alles sehr persönlich.“

    Speziell die erste Single „My eyes are wide open“ hat Marco nicht nur in kürzester Zeit geschrieben, sondern auch die Lyrics sind größtenteils geblieben. „Die Textstelle ‘Lay your head on me, oh my little boy’ bereitet mir immer noch Gänsehaut, da ich mir hier mich und meinen Sohn vorstelle und die Liebe, die Kurzweiligkeit des Moments, aber auch Verantwortung spüre, ihn in diese Welt zu ‚schicken‘.“ so der Künstler weiter. Dass gerade dieser Song von keinem geringeren als MARILLION-Gitarrist STEVE ROTHERY veredelt wurde, einem von Marcos musikalischen Helden, setzt ein ganz besonderes Ausrufezeichen.

    Apropos Musiker, das Line-up liest sich wie ein „Who is who“ der Artrock-/Progressive-Rock-Szene: neben dem bereits erwähnten STEVE ROTHERY gibt auch BILLY SHERWOOD von YES ein Gastspiel: er steuerte die Chöre bei „Hear Our Voice“ in allerbester YES-Manier bei. RPWL-Gitarrist KALLE WALLNER spielt die meisten Gitarren auf dem Album und war nicht nur als Co-Produzent, sondern auch als Arrangeur maßgeblich beteiligt. Natürlich gibt sich SYLVAN-Gitarrist JOHNNY BECK die Ehre und die Rhythmusgruppe besteht aus Drummer TOMMY EBERHARDT und dem Bassisten MARKUS GRÜTZNER (RPWL). All das wurde aufgenommen, gemischt und produziert von RPWL-Mastermind YOGI LANG in den Farm-Studios, der zudem noch einige Keyboards beigesteuert hat.

    Trotz der natürlicherweise vorhandenen Parallelen zu SYLVAN sind die Songs auf „A Fragile Present“ deutlich „erdiger“ und teilweise „rockiger“. Die Arrangements sind stets auf das Wesentliche reduziert und die wunderbare und hoch-emotionale Stimme von MARCO GLÜHMANN jederzeit im Fokus. Die genialen Gesangsmelodien ebnen einem sofort den Zugang zu dem Album, bei dem neben all den rockigen Elementen selbstverständlich auch die Balladen nicht fehlen dürfen, wo Marcos Stimme besonders brillieren kann: neben dem bereits erwähnten „My eyes are wide open“ sind hier „Hear Our Voice“ oder das sehr intime „You are not alone“ besonders hervorzuheben. Und natürlich gibt es auch proggige Elemente, z.B. auf „Never say good-bye“ oder „Look at me“.

    MARCO GLÜHMANN über den Albumtitel: „‘A Fragile Present‘ spiegelt die Zerbrechlichkeit des ‚Geschenks des Lebens‘ oder auch der ‚Vergänglichen Gegenwart‘, ob im persönlichen oder auch im globalen Kontext wider. Es ist kein Konzeptalbum, aber dennoch hängen die Songs inhaltlich zusammen, da mich diese Zerbrechlichkeit und Verlustangst im Kreativprozess begleitet hat.“

    „A Fragile Present“ ist ein wahres „Bilderbuch“-Album, das man sich schöner nicht wünschen könnte. Tolle und einprägsame Melodien, die einen nicht mehr loslassen, hochemotionale Musik und grandiose Musiker. All das will einen das Album wieder und wieder genießen lassen.

     

    Veröffentlichung 14. Juni 2024
    Media CD (Digipak) GAOM077
    Vinyl GAOM077LP
    Label Gentle Art Of Music
    Vertrieb Soulfood Music
    Marco Glühmann – vocals, keyboards, guitars
    feat.
    Steve Rothery (Marillion) –  guitar on “My eyes are wide open”
    Billy Sherwood (YES) – choir on “Hear our voice”
    Kalle Wallner (RPWL) – guitars, bass
    Johnny Beck (Sylvan) – guitars
    Yogi Lang (RPWL) – keyboards
    Markus Grützner (RPWL) – bass
    Tommy Eberhardt – drums

    Hear Our Voice
    Never Say Goodbye
    Reach Out
    Faceless (nur auf CD & Streaming)
    Look At Me
    At Home
    For A While
    Black The Shade Out
    One Last Hope
    Life Is Much Too Short (nur auf CD & Streaming)
    Running Out Of Time
    My Eyes Are Wide Open
    YouTube

    Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
    Mehr erfahren

    Video laden